Search form

Finalists Announced for British Animation Awards 2022

‘Ron’s Gone Wrong,’ ‘Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas,’ and ‘Robin Robin’ among the animated shows chosen; winners to be announced at the awards ceremony on March 10.

British Animation Awards 2022 finalists have been announced. The awards honor the best in British animation across a variety of categories. The awards ceremony will be held March 10 at London’s BFI Southbank with four satellite live events happening in Stirling, Salford, Cardiff, and Bristol. Presented by comedian Miles Jupp and headline sponsored by Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe the awards will unveil the latest names to join the list of winners from past years which includes Nick Park, Joanna Quinn, Tim Burton, Martin Freeman, Simon Tofield and Gorillaz.

The Finalists:

Best Voice Performance category include:

  • Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit)
  • Ricky Gervais (After Life) for Save Ralph,
  • Ben Whishaw (No Time to Die) for The Adventures of Paddington
  • Bella Ramsay (Game of Thrones) for Hilda: The Fifty Year Night
  • Menna Trussler (Little Britain) for Affairs of the Art
  • Bel Powley (The Morning Show) for Moominvalley

Best Long Form:

  • Aardman Animations’ Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas
  • Sesame Street’s The Monster at the End of the Story
  • Ron’s Gone Wrong

Best Children’s Series:

  • The Brilliant World of Tom Gates – Sky Kids Original
  • Milo - Channel 5 Milkshake
  • Hilda: The Deerfox - Netflix

Best Animation in a Commercial:

  • The Girl Who Built a Rocket for WaterAid UK
  • Breath of Nature for Airwick
  • Save Ralph for the Humane Society International
  • Moto GP Returns for MotoGP.

Best Music Video:

  • Rocket Freudental – Der Stuhlkreis (Ged Haney)
  • Mama Jerk and the Ladyfinger – Mountain (Harrison Fleming)
  • Foo Fighters – Chasing Birds (Emlyn Davies, Josh Hicks)
  • Christy Moore – The Voyage (Jessica Patterson)
  • Jamie Cullum – Age of Anxiety (Neil Pymer)

Best Children’s Pre-School:

  • Hey Duggee
  • The Adventures of Paddington
  • Circle Square
  • Milo
  • Pip and Posy

Best Short Film Award:

  • FlattenTheCurve#1 - Studio Desk, Kathrin Steinbacher, Emily Downe
  • Meow or Never - Neeraja Raj
  • Save Ralph - Spencer Susser
  • Black Slide - Uri Lotan 
  • Affairs of the Art - Joanna Quinn

Best Undergraduate Film Award:

  • To be a Goat - Milda Kargaudaite
  • True Colours - Hanna Lea Wyttenbach
  • Case closed - Lucy Gatenby
  • @Scroll Alice - Céline Ufenast
  • Suburb - Miles Jezuita

Best Postgraduate Student Film Award:

  • Black Hole! - Renee Zhan
  • Other Half - Lina Kalcheva
  • Eating In the Dark - Inari Sirola

Best Social Good Award:

  • Typically - Anna Ginsburg, Caitlin McCarthy
  • Diabetes Symptoms - Angie Phillips, Phoebe Halstead
  • Up River – a Shadventure on the River Severn - Tom Stubbs
  • You Being You - Kong Studio
  • Sinking Feeling - Mark Spokes

Best Original Music:

  • Sol - Gráinne Mc Guinness
  • I Am Odd - Benjamin Giroux, Mike Connaris 
  • Robin Robin - Dan Ojari, Mikey Please
  • Edgar’s Christmas - Mike MacLennan
  • Love Monster – Super Sound Day - Theme music by Jeremy Warmsley; Score Composed by Esther Joy Lane; Score Composed by Hannah Charman

Writers Award:

  • Myles McLeod for Circle Square – Pizza Mystery - Greg McLeod
  • Les Mills for Affairs of the Art - Joanna Quinn
  • Peter Baynham and Sarah Smith for Ron’s Gone Wrong - Jean- Philippe Vine, Sarah Smith, Octavio E Rodriguez
  • Madeleine Brettingham for The Rubbish World of Dave Spud – Twinfestation - Edward Foster
  • Mark Burton and Giles Pilbrow for Shaun the Sheep – The Flight Before Christmas - Steve Cox

Cutting Edge Award (new to 2022 BAAs):

  • Save Ralph - Spencer Susser
  • Sub-Surface - Alex Robinson
  • Dead Pixels S2 - Jamie Jay Johnson, Asa Movshovitz

Wildcard Award (new to 2022 BAAs):

  • Timeline - Osbert Parker
  • Boris Johnson Eats A Pot Noodle In The Bath - Ross Butter
  • Strange - Cameron Carr
  • Squib – When All of This is Over - Baz Sells
  • Hench Girl Summer - Beatriz Antunes

“After a particularly tough couple of years, the animation scene in the UK remains thriving and productive,” noted BAA director Helen Brunsdon and producer Kieran Argo. “To see such a quantity of excellent work submitted to the BAAs is evidence of the dedication and creative ingenuity in all who work in animation.

The BAAs are the only awards to recognize all forms of animation and reward the work of both new and established animators across all aspects of the UK Animation scene, from student work to commercials, children’s entertainment, short and experiential films, music videos and new technologies.

The awards themselves (the BAAs) are unique sheep-themed artworks, created especially for the occasion by a range of leading international and UK artists.

More information on the above is available at

Source: British Animation Awards:

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.