Search form

Fest Anča 2023 Reveals Official Selections

Almost 230 films were selected to participate in this year’s event, including original contemporary domestic and international animation featuring films by renowned filmmakers and young emerging talent; the event runs June 29-July 7.

The 16th edition of Fest Anča International Animation Festival has revealed its official selections for the upcoming event that runs June 29-July 7, 2023, in Žilina, Slovakia. The selection committee chose almost 230 films to participate from the nearly 1,400 films received from 73 countries. The official selection represents original contemporary domestic and international animation, featuring films by renowned filmmakers and young emerging talents.

Program director and selection committee member Jakub Spevák shared, "This year, we have been enchanted by the very personal stories of filmmakers who are not afraid to courageously talk about complex themes such as identity, love, friendships, or finding the meaning of life in the post-truth world.”

Here are the Competitive Selections:

The Anča Award - Best Animated Short and Best Student Animated Short:

  • Misaligned – by Marta Magnuska (Poland)
  • Above the clouds (s) – by Vivien Hárshegyi (Hungary)
  • BLUSH – An Extraordinary Voyage – by Iiti Yli-Harja (Finland)
  • Backflip- by Nikita Diakur (Germany)
  • Armat – by Elodie Dermange (Switzerland)
  • In the Big Yard Inside the Teeny-Weeny Pocket – by Yoko Yuki (Japan)
  • Sasha – by Serghei Chiviriga (Romania)
  • The Debutante – by Elizabeth Hobbs (United Kingdom)
  • Amok - by Balázs Turai (Hungary)
  • newHuman:Chimera (s)  – by Felipe Bolivar (France)
  • The Sunset Special – by Nicolas Gebbe (Germany)
  • Headprickles (s) - by Katarzyna Miechowicz (Poland)
  • Balaclava (s) – by Youri Dimitri Kozma Orekhoff (Belgium)
  • Epicenter (s) - Hee-yoon Hahm (Republic of Korea)
  • The Miracle – by Nienke Deutz (Belgium)
  • Beautiful Figures – by Soetkin Verstegen (Belgium)
  • A Goat's Spell - by Gerhard Funk (Germany)
  • Trace – by Asparuh Petrov (Bulgaria)
  • 3 geNARRATIONS – by Paulina Ziółkowska (Poland)
  • Ice Merchants – by João Gonzalez (Portugal)
  • The Mental Aethelet – by Wednesday Kim (United States)
  • artifacts of you, artifacts of me. (s) by Brecht De Cock (Belgium)
  • Juice (s) – by Mona Keil and (Germany)
  • Slow Light – by Katarzyna Kijek, Przemysław Adamski (Poland)
  • The Queen of the Foxes – by Marina Rosset (Switzerland)
  • formats of failure (s) – by Michi Schmidl (Austria)
  • Damn Rain! (s) – by Lola Degove (France)
  • Persona (s) – by Sujin Moon (Republic of Korea)
  • 11 – by Vuk Jevremovic (Croatia)
  • My Name is Edgar and I Have a Cow – by Filip Diviak (Czech Republic, Slovakia)
  • Sliver Cave - by Caibei Cai (China)
  • Well Wishes My Love, Your Love - by Gabriel Gabriel Garble (Sweden)
  • Cufufu (s) – by Bruno Quast (Estonia)

The Anča Award - Best Animated Music Video

  • Avalanche Kaito – TOULELE – by Simon Breeveld (Belgium)
  • Be Gone – by Sijia Luo (China)
  • No lullaby – by Ezequiel Torres (Argentina)
  • Gayle FMK (with blackbear) – by Chris Ullens (United Kingdom)
  • Until Exhaustion – by Magdalena Hejzlarová (Czech Republic)
  • How Many – by Bianca Scali (Germany)
  • Emmen am See - by Andrea Schneider, Anja Sidler, Delia Hess (Switzerland)
  • MA1NFRAME – by Qieer Wang (United States)
  • Lenka Dusilova — Biale koine – by Miloslav Fric (Czech Republic)
  • Day In My Dream - by Pei-Hsin Cho (Taiwan)
  • CATCATCATCATCATCATCAT – by Thomas Leung Yu Ho, Cathy Fung Po Yi, Parco Wong Lok Hang (Hong Kong)
  • Cool Party – by Simon Medard (Belgium)
  • ECHT! - 500GR – by Simon Breeveld (Belgium)
  • INSIDE – by Ryoji Yamada (Japan)
  • Marketing Keeled Free Web Like a Storm – by Benna Gaean Maris (Belgium)
  • Glitter Electron – by Chihiro Sato, Takaaki Numa and E (Japan)
  • King of Bhangra - by Eliška Oz, Lee Oz (Czech Republic)
  • Heads Or Tales – by Lee Oz, Eliška Oz (Czech Republic)
  • Harvey and The Zoons - Half As Sweet – by Zohar Dvir (Germany)
  • Zouj feat. Sahareya – Driving With My Eyes Closed – by Franz Impler (Germany)
  • Do Good And Bad Will Come To You – by Karina Torres (Costa Rica)
  • Loa – by Melinda Kádár (France)
  • Mariupol. A Hundred Nights – by Sofiia Melnyk (Ukraine)
  • Miranda! - El arte de recuperarte – by Dante Zaballa (Argentina)
  • LES HOMMES-BOÎTES – Tuyaux – by Yoann Stehr (Belgium)

The Anča Award - Best Animated Short for Children

  • The Turnip - by  Piret Sigus, Silja Saarepuu (Estonia)
  • Marea – by Giulia Martinelli (Switzerland)
  • Pond – by Lena von Döhren, Eva Rust (Switzerland)
  • Lazy Bloom – by Robin Artero, Aurore Devichi, Juliette Gueydan, Manon Jumel, Elsa Mandelsaft, Benjamin Mourgues, Sophie Nippert, Elodie Tardif (France)
  • To Be Sisters – by Anne-Sophie Gousset, Clément Céard (France)
  • T-Rex – by Julia Ocker (Germany)
  • Swing to the Moon - by  Marie Bordessoule, Adriana Bouissie, Nadine de Boer, Elisa Drique, Chloé Lauzu, Vincent Levrero, Solenne Moreau (France)
  • Jules & Juliette – by Chantal Peten (Belgium)

Anča Award - Best Slovak Animated Short

  • My Name is Edgar and I Have a Cow – by Filip Diviak (Czech Republic, Slovakia)
  • Criss Cross – by Nina Rybárová, Tomáš Rybár (Slovakia)
  • Zadig/ Človek – by Andrea Pátková, Adam Čurko, Viktoria Voržáčková (Slovakia)
  • Doubt – by Adela Križovenská (Czech Republic)
  • Existence – by Niko Mlynarčík (Czech Republic)
  • Extraordinary Tales from Town of Mindcery – by Veronika Trokšiarová, Zlata Golecová (Slovakia)
  • Slavo Turanec - Kamilka! feat. Hudobné teleso Pr - by Slavo Turanec (Slovakia)
  • Mercy – by Ivana Laučíková (Slovakia)
  • Out of Time – by Jan Juhaniak (Ukraine)

Visit the Fest Anča website to learn more about this year’s selections.

Source: Fest Anča International Animation Festival

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.