Search form

EXCLUSIVE: Listen to ‘Christmas Fizz’ From Aardman’s ‘Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas’

Give a holiday cheer for an Aardman double header featuring today’s arrival of the digital Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and animated special; the quirky fresh tracks by Tom Howe are available on Lakeshore Records, while the stop-motion winter’s tale and its all-star sheepy cast is now streaming on Netflix.

Just in time for Xmas and for Shaun the Sheep fans everywhere… (and seriously, who is NOT a Shaun the Sheep fan?)  Lakeshore Records has dropped the digital Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack featuring music by Tom Howe (A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon, Early Man). Grab the album here!

Have a listen to AWN’s exclusive posting of “Christmas Fizz,” and bring on the fizzy!

Howe brings a fresh, yet heartfelt familiarity to his quirky music for the now-classic stop-motion character created by the multi award-winning and independent British production company Aardman (Robin Robin, Wallace and Gromit, Chicken Run). The new, signature holiday film is now available on Netflix in the U.S., Latin America, Canada and parts of Europe and the Middle East on Netflix. It will also air on the BBC in the UK—date TBS.  

In the 30-minute special, the world’s favorite sheep stars in his very own winter’s tale. Shaun's seasonal excitement turns to dismay when a farmhouse raid to get bigger stockings for the Flock inadvertently leads to Timmy going missing. Can Shaun get Timmy back before he becomes someone else’s present? Prepare for a ‘Santastic’ adventure as everyone learns the true value of Christmas!

Notes Howe, “Composing the music for Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas was my fourth time working with Aardman. There is now a familiarity and easiness that makes the creative process, not only enjoyable, but also allows me to not be overly concerned with putting forward unusual ideas and suggesting different ways of doing things. That goes both ways and Aardman often steer me in directions I might never have thought about. There is action, comedy, quirk and like all Aardman projects, heart. I recorded at Abbey Road with Britain’s finest and loved the whole experience. I hope you do too. “

Track List

  1. The Flight Before Christmas
  2. The Wrong Recipe
  3. On Another Mission
  4. The Christmas Lights
  5. The Grotto
  6. Ski Chase
  7. Family House
  8. Bedtime Story
  9. Breaking In
  10. Rescue Plan and Escape Attempt
  11. Bitzer To the Rescue
  12. Christmas Ending
  13. Christmas Fizz
  14. The Flight Before Christmas (Full Song)
  15. The Flight Before Christmas (Instrumental)

Source: Lakeshore Records

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.