Search form

'Ernest & Celestine' Wins LA Film Critics Award

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards GKIDS’ Ernest & Celestine the prize for Best Animation, while Hayao Miyazaki’s The Wind Rises is named the runner-up.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association voted on Sunday, December 8, awarding GKIDS’ Ernest & Celestine the prize for Best Animation, while Hayao Miyazaki’s The Wind Rises was named the runner-up.

The vote for Best Film ended in a tie, with the prize going to both Alfonso Cuaron's survival-in-space tale Gravity and Spike Jonze's futuristic love story Her. Cuaron also was named best director, with Jonze as runner-up. Gravity also was cited for its cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezki and its editing by Cuaron and Mark Sanger, while Her got a nod for K.K. Barrett's production design.

The complete list of winners is shown below:

Best Film: Tie, Gravity and Her

Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity (runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her)

Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska (runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave)

Best Actress: Tie, Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine, and Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue Is the Warmest Color

Best Documentary: Stories We Tell (runner-up: The Act of Killing)

Best Supporting actress: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave (runner-up: June Squibb, Nebraska)

Best Supporting actor: Tie, James Franco, Spring Breakers, and Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight (runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her)

Best Animation: Ernest & Celestine (runner-up: The Wind Rises)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity (runner-up, Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Film editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity (runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery, Upstream Color)

Best Score: T Bone Burnett, Inside Llewyn Davis (runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett, Her)

Best Production design: K.K. Barrett, Her (runner-up: Jess Gonchor, Inside Llewyn Davis)

Foreign-language film: Blue Is the Warmest Color (runner-up: The Great Beauty)

New Generation: Megan Ellison, producer of Her and American Hustle.

Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award: Charlotte Pryce, Cabinets of Wonder: Films and a Performance

Legacy of Cinema: The Criterion Collection

Special Citation: 12 Years a Slave creative team

Source: The Los Angeles Film Critics Association

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.