Search form

Don Hertzfeldt's ‘World of Tomorrow’ Takes Anima 2016 Grand Prix

Oscar-nominated short film is awarded the Grand Prix at Anima 2016; Special Jury Award given to Japan’s Yoriko Mizushiri for ‘Maku.’

BRUSSELS -- The 35th Brussels International Animation Festival, Anima 2016, came to a close with the announcements of its prizewinning films.

The Anima 2016 international jury, made up of:

  • Sergio Honorez (B), Publisher (Dupuis)
  • Niki Lindroth von Bahr (S), Film Director
  • Nicolas Ménard (CDN), Film Director

Awarded the Anima Grand Prix to:

  • American filmmaker Don Hertzfeldt for his short film World of Tomorrow, "for its cinematic achievement, its mind-bending and imaginative sci-fi story, its masterful use of voice and music".

The jury also gave their Special Jury Award to:

  • Japanese film Maku directed by Yoriko Mizushiri (JP),

The Best Graduation Short Film was awarded to:

  • Filmmaker Marcus Armitage and his short My Dad (UK) as the Best Graduation Short Film.

The Junior Jury, made up of the team of reporters from Ceci n'est pas un buzz, awarded the Best Short Film for a Young Audience to:

  • Swiss filmmaker Lena von Döhren's The Little Bird and the Squirrel (Der Kleine Vogel und das Eichhörnchen).

The Anima public awarded the Audience Awards for:

Best Feature to:

  • Japanese filmmaker Mamoru Hosoda and his The Boy and The Beast (Bakemono no Ko)

Young Public:

  • French director Rémi Chayé got the votes for his feature Long Way North (Tout en haut du monde) (F).

Audience Award for Best Short Film:

  • Konstantin Bronzit and his film We Can't Live Without Cosmos (Mi ne mozhem zhit bez kosmosa) (RU)

Best Short Film for a Young Audience:

  • Jay Grace from the Aardman studios for Shaun the Sheep - The Farmer's Llamas (UK).

Best Animated Night Short Film:

  • Paniek! by Joost Lieuwma and Daan Velsink (NL)

The Anima 2016, national competition jury, made up of:

  • Amaury Coljon (B), Animator
  • Seppe de Kepper (B), Journalist
  • Deb Singleton (UK), Programme Planner

Awarded the Anima 2016 Grand Prix for

Best Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles Short Film:

  • Caroline Nugues-Bourchat for her film De Longues Vacances.

Best Belgian Short:

  • Bram Mondy for Rapsodie en rose

Best Graduation Short Film:

  •  Chloé Alliez for her Toutes Nuancées.

Author Award:

  • Ely Dagher for Waves'98.

With over 250 films screened and 31 countries represented, the Festival brought together a large and varied group of children, adults, students and professionals from the animation industry. The ten days were rich in film premieres and screenings shown to full houses. Festival visitors were able to cross paths with filmmakers visiting from all over the world, making Anima an even more international animated appointment.

Source: Brussels International Animation Festival

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.