Search form

DGA Announces 2018 Feature Film Nominees

Alfonso Cuarón, Bradley Cooper, Spike Lee, Adam McKay, and Peter Farrelly receive nominations for the DGA’s top feature film award.

Alfonso Cuarón received his second DGA Feature Film Award nomination for ‘Roma.’ He previously won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2013 for ‘Gravity.’

LOS ANGELES -- The Directors Guild of America has announced the five nominees for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2018.

“To be chosen by one’s peers in a year full of such extraordinary films is the true mark of outstanding directorial achievement,” said DGA president Thomas Schlamme in making the announcement. “In bringing all elements of the filmmaking process together, each of these directors has demonstrated an exceptional command of the medium, creating excellence for the screen. Congratulations to all of the nominees.”

The five nominees for the DGA’s top feature film award are Alfonso Cuarón for Roma, Bradley Cooper for A Star Is Born, Spike Lee for BlacKkKlansman, Adam McKay for Vice, and Peter Farrelly for Green Book.

Cuarón previously won both the DGA Award and Academy Award for directing in 2013 for Gravity.

Cooper also received a DGA nomination for its first-time director award, alongside Bo Burnham for Eighth Grade, Carlos Lopez Estrada for Blindspotting, Matthew Heineman for A Private War, and Boots Riley for Sorry to Bother You.

Awards will be handed out at the DGA Awards Dinner at Hollywood & Highland Center’s Ray Dolby Ballroom on Saturday, February 2.

The full list of nominees is shown below:


  • Bradley Cooper
    A Star is Born (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Alfonso Cuarón
    Roma (Netflix)
  • Peter Farrelly
    Green Book (Universal Pictures)
  • This is Mr. Farrelly’s first DGA Award nomination.
  • Spike Lee
    BlacKkKlansman (Focus Features)
  • Adam McKay
    Vice (Annapurna Pictures)


  • Bo Burnham
    Eighth Grade (A24)
  • Bradley Cooper
    A Star is Born (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Carlos Lopez Estrada
    Blindspotting (Summit Entertainment)
  • Matthew Heineman
    A Private War (Aviron Pictures)
  • Boots Riley
    Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)


  • Jason Bateman
    Ozark, “Reparations” (Netflix)
  • This is Mr. Bateman’s first DGA Award nomination.
  • Lesli Linka Glatter
    Homeland, “Paean to the People” (Showtime)
  • Chris Long
    The Americans, “START” (FX)
  • Adam McKay
    Succession, “Celebration” (HBO)
  • Daina Reid
    The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly” (Hulu)


  • Donald Glover
    Atlanta, “FUBU” (FX)
  • Bill Hader
    Barry, “Chapter One: Make Your Mark” (HBO)
  • Hiro Murai
    Atlanta, “Teddy Perkins” (FX)
  • Daniel Palladino
    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “We’re Going to the Catskills!” (Amazon)
  • Amy Sherman‑Palladino
    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “All Alone” (Amazon)
  • same category in 2017 for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel pilot episode “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.”


  • Cary Joji Fukunaga
    Maniac (Netflix)
  • David Leveau (Directed By)
    Alex Rudzinski (Live Television Direction By)
    Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert (NBC)
  • Barry Levinson
    Paterno (HBO)
  • Ben Stiller
    Escape at Dannemora (Showtime)
  • Jean‑Marc Vallee
    Sharp Objects (HBO)


  • Paul G. Casey
    Real Time With Bill Maher, “#1633” (HBO)
  • Sacha Baron Cohen, Nathan Fielder, Daniel Gray Longino, Dan Mazer
    Who Is America?, “Episode 102” (Showtime)
  • Jim Hoskinson
    The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, “#480” (CBS)
  • Don Roy King
    Saturday Night Live, “Adam Driver; Kanye West” (NBC)
  • Paul Pennolino
    Last Week Tonight With John Oliver, “Episode 502 ‑ Italian Election” (HBO)


  • Louis J. Horvitz
    The 60th Grammy Awards (CBS)
  • Timn Mancinelli, Glenn Clements
    The Late Late Show Carpool Karaoke Primetime Special 2018 (CBS)
  • Beth McCarthy‑Miller
    Bill Maher: Live From Oklahoma (HBO)
  • Marcus Raboy
    Steve Martin & Martin Short “An Evening You Will Forget For the Rest of Your Life” (Netflix)
  • Glenn Weiss
    The 72nd Annual Tony Awards (CBS)


  • Neil P. DeGroot
    Better Late Than Never,”How Do You Say Roots in German?” (NBC)
  • Eytan Keller
    Iron Chef Gauntlet, “Episode 201” (Food Network)
  • Patrick McManus
    American Ninja Warrior, “Miami City Qualifiers” (NBC)
  • Russell Norman
    The Final Table, “Japan” (Netflix)
  • Bertram van Munster
    The Amazing Race, “It’s Just a Million Dollars, No Pressure” (CBS)


  • Allan Arkush
    A Series of Unfortunate Events, “Hostile Hospital: Part 1” (Netflix)
  • Jack Jameson
    Sesame Street, “When You Wish Upon a Pickle: A Sesame Street Special” (HBO)
  • Greg Mottola
    The Dangerous Book for Boys, “How to Walk on the Moon” (Amazon)
  • Barry Sonnenfeld
    A Series of Unfortunate Events, “The Vile Village: Part 1” (Netflix)
  • Bo Welch
    A Series of Unfortunate Events, “The Ersatz Elevator: Part 1” (Netflix)


  • Steve Ayson (MJZ)
    Getting Ready, Dollar Shave Club – (client direct)
  • Fredrik Bond (MJZ)
    Harmony, Virgin TV – BBH
    Take Them All On, BT Sport – AMV BBDO
    The Big Win, – Karmarama
  • Martin de Thurah (Epoch Films)
    Final Breath, Audi RS 5 Coupe – Venables, Bell & Partners
    Mama Said Knock You Out, Chase – Droga5
    Space Station, Macy’s – BBDO
  • Spike Jonze (MJZ)
    Welcome Home, Apple Homepod – TBWA \ Media Arts Lab
  • David Shane (O Positive)
    Alien, Babbel – Wieden + Kennedy London
    Mothers & Daughters, Alzheimer’s PSA – BBDO


  • Morgan Neville
    Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
    (Focus Features)
  • Ramell Ross
    Hale County This Morning, This Evening
    (Idiom Film and Louverture Films)
  • Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi & Jimmy Chan
    Free Solo (National Geographic Documentary Films)
  • Tim Wardle
    Three Identical Strangers (Neon and CNN Films)
  • Betsy West & Julie Cohen
    RBG (Magnolia Pictures)

For more information about the nominees, visit

Source: Directors Guild of America

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.