Search form

The DC Universe Expands with All New Animated Shorts Showcase

Short films will star popular DC characters including Kamandi, The Losers, Blue Beetle, and Constantine; ‘Kamandi: The Last Boy on Earth!’ to be first short released as bonus feature on ‘Justice Society: World War II’ in Spring 2021.

An all-new DC Showcase of animated shorts is coming from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment in 2021-2022. Shorts will feature DC characters Kamandi, The Losers, Blue Beetle, and Constantine; Kamandi: The Last Boy on Earth!, directed by Matt Peters (Justice League Dark: Apokolips War) from a script written by Paul Giacoppo (Young Justice, Star Wars: Resistance), will be the first short released, attached as a bonus feature to Justice Society: World War II in Spring 2021.

Produced by Warner Bros. Animation, DC, and Warner Bros. Home Entertainment, and inspired by characters and stories from throughout the iconic DC canon, the all-new quartet of shorts will be included on upcoming releases of DC Universe movies, with the exception of the lengthier Constantine short, which will serve as the anchor for a compilation set to be distributed in 2022.

All four new DC Showcase shorts are being produced by Rick Morales (Mortal Kombat Legends: Scorpion’s Revenge).

Launched in 2010, DC Showcase was originally comprised of four animated shorts: The Spectre (2/23/2010), Jonah Hex (7/27/2010), Green Arrow (9/28/2010) and Superman/Shazam: The Return of Black Adam (11/9/2010). An additional short, Catwoman (10/18/2011), was attached the following year to the release of Batman: Year One. For 2019-2020, DC Showcase returned with five shorts: Sgt. Rock (8/6/2019) Death (10/22/2019), The Phantom Stranger (3/17/2020), Adam Strange (5/19/2020), and the interactive Batman: Death in the Family (10/13/2020).

Actors featured on DC Showcase shorts have included Malcolm McDowell; James Garner (in his final performance); Jerry O’Connell; Linda Hamilton; Karl Urban; Gary Cole; Alyssa Milano; Bruce Greenwood; Thomas Jane; Michael Rooker; Eliza Dushku; Neal McDonough; Ariel Winter; Danica McKeller; George Newbern; Michelle Trachtenberg; Charlie Weber; Arnold Vosloo; Leonard Nam; Jamie Chung; Peter Serafinowicz; and Michael Rosenbaumy.

Source: Warner Bros. Home Entertainment, Inc.