Search form

Crunchyroll Reveals ‘Chainsaw Man’ English Dub Cast

New Japanese cast and opening and ending theme songs also announced; series hits Crunchyroll this October.

Crunchyroll has revved up the excitement for Chainsaw Man by unveiling the English dub cast and new ending and opening theme songs.  The highly anticipated anime series from MAPPA (Maruyama Animation Produce Project Association) premieres at New York Comic Con on Friday, October 7, before heading to Crunchyroll on October 11.   Additional dubs will include Latin American Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, French, and German, with casts announced at a later date. 

Based on the award-winning manga by Tatsuki Fujimoto and serialized in Shueisha’s Weekly Shōnen Jump, Chainsaw Man follows the story of Denji, an impoverished teenage who lives in a world filled with bloodthirsty Devils. In attempt to repay the debt his father left behind, he harvests devil corpses with a chainsaw devil named Ponchita.  One day, Denji is betrayed and killed. As his consciousness fades, he makes a pact with Pochita and gets revived as "Chainsaw Man"--a man with a devil's heart and the ability to transform parts of his body into a chainsaws.

With Mike McFarland (Attack on Titan; Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood) serving as ADR director, the Chainsaw Man English dub cast includes Ryan Colt Levy (My Hero Academia: World Heroes’ Mission; Moriarty the Patriot) as Denji; Suzie Yeung (Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba; Wonder Egg Priority) as Makima; Reagan Murdock (Dragon Ball SuperDon't Hurt Me, My Healer!) as Aki; and Sarah Wiedenheft (Black Clover; Dr. STONE; Dragon Ball Super) as Power.

Additionally, MAPPA announced the following new Japanese voice actors: Kikunosuke Toya as Denji; Shiori Izawa as Pochita; Tomori Kusunoki as Makima; Shogo Sakata as Aki Hayakawa; Fairouz Ai as Power; Mariya Ise as Himeno; Karin Takahashi as Kobeni Higashiyama; Taku Yashiro as Hirokazu Arai; and Kenjiro Tsuda as Kishibe

MAPPA also unveiled the show’s all-new track listing, including the opening theme song, "Kick Back," by Kenshi Yonezu.  Ending theme songs for  each of the 12 episodesare: “Hawatari Nioku Centi” by Maximum the Hormone; “All kind of kisses” by Ano; “Fight Song” by Eve; “Deep down” by Aimer; “Rendezvous” by Kanaria; “In the Back Room” by Syudou; “Violence” by Queen Bee; “Time Left” by Zutomayo; “first death” by TK from Ling tosite sigure; “tablet” by Tooboe; “Chainsaw Blood” by Vaundy; and “Dogland” by People 1.

Chainsaw Man’s animation is produced by MAPPA, directed by Ryū Nakayama (Fate/Grand Order Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia; The Rising of the Shield Hero). The screenplay is by Hiroshi Seko (Attack on Titan Final Season; Mob Psycho 100; Banana Fish), character design by Kazutaka Sugiyama (Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation), devil design by Kiyotaka Oshiyama (The Wind Rises; The Secret World of Arrietty; Space Dandy), art direction by Yusuke Takeda (Vivy -Fluorite Eye's Song-; Sword Art Online; Penguin Highway), and music composed by Kensuke Ushio (The Heike Story; Devilman: Crybaby; Space Dandy).

Source: Crunchyroll

Whitney Whitener's picture

Whitney is a freelance writer focusing on VFX-driven fantasy film & TV as well as preschool animation.