Search form

Cartoon Network to Release ‘Steven Universe Soundtrack Vol. 1,’ June 2

Digital album answers fan requests for compilation album from the popular series.

The Cartoon Network announced that the digital album Steven Universe Soundtrack: Volume 1, a collection of music from the beloved Emmy-nominated series, will be released globally, June 2.

The company reports that viewers had been asking for a compilation of the music that plays such an important role in the cartoon. The soundtrack will feature songs originally heard in the series’ 120-plus episodes, including the iconic theme song, “We Are the Crystal Gems.”

From the creative minds of Rebecca Sugar and Steven Crewniverse, the digital album features a lineup of re-mastered songs handpicked by Sugar and performed by the series voice cast, including Zach Callison (Steven), Estelle (Garnet), Deedee Magno Hall (Pearl), Michaela Dietz (Amethyst) and Tom Scharpling (Greg), as well as special performances by guests and Sugar herself.

“I am so excited about this album that I hardly have the words,” says Sugar. “We poured our hearts into these songs and now they’re finally collected and stunningly re-mastered by our composers Aivi and Surrasshu.”

“I can not say enough about how much I love each of these tracks,” Sugar adds. “If the music of Steven Universe has been a tiny piece of the score of your life, please know that I am so honored. I hope you’ll love this album as much as we loved making it.”

Steven Universe, hailed for its voice of inclusion, follows Steven, the "little brother" to a team of magical guardians of humanity -- the Crystal Gems. Steven may not be as powerful as the Crystal Gems, but that doesn't stop him from joining Garnet, Amethyst and Pearl on their magical adventures and somehow finding a way to save the day.

The album will be available in digital music stores, as well as on all major streaming platforms.

Source: Cartoon Network