Search form

Call For Entries: NIAFF 2024

Submissions now being accepted for next year’s event in Niigata; inaugural Grand Prix winner ‘Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman’ by Pierre Földes revealed from 2023 edition. 

The Niigata International Animation Festival (NIAFF) has announced the winners of its most recent feature-length animated film competition (March 2023) and issued a call for entries for its second edition coming March 15-20, 2024.

The Jury for NIAFF 2023:

  • Mamoru Oshii – directorial credits include Mobile Police Patlabor 2 the Movie, Ghost in the Shell, Innocence (Cannes Film Festival in Competition), and Sky Crawlers.
  • Jinko Gotoh – credits include Klaus, The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part, The Little Prince, The Illusionist, 9, and Finding Nimo—Gotoh is vice president for Women in Animation.
  • David Jesteadt – (GKIDS president) credits include executive producer of the Oscar-nominated films The Breadwinner and Wolfwalkers.

The 2023 winners included:

Grand Prix:

  • Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman - Pierre Földes (France, Canada, Netherlands, Luxembourg)


  • Khamsa - The Well of Oblivion – Vynom (Algeria)

Special Mention:

  • Vampire in the Garden - Ryotaro Makihara (Japan)

Evolve Award:

  • Thee Wreckers Tetralogy – Rosto (Netherlands, France)

Entries for the NIAF 2024 feature film competition are now being accepted – additional information is available here.

Source: NIAFF

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.