Search form

British Academy Children’s Awards Winners Announced

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts announces the winners of Sunday night’s British Academy Children’s Awards, including Illumination Entertainment’sDespicable Me 2, andRoom on the Broom, the animated adaptation of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's picture book.

London -- The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced the winners of Sunday night’s British Academy Children’s Awards, celebrating the very best in children’s film, television, games and online media of the past year, and the talent behind their successes. The ceremony was hosted by Jake Humphrey at the London Hilton on Park Lane, and presenters included Myleene Klass, Henry Winkler, Morwenna Banks, Ashley Roberts, X Factor’s Abi Alton, Jack Carroll, Ashley & Pudsey, Shappi Khorsandi and Sir David Attenborough.

Horrible Histories made history itself by becoming the first program to win four consecutive BAFTAs at the Children’s Awards ceremony; triumphing in the Comedy category once again.

CITV’s Share a Story, based on competition-winning stories by children, celebrated for the second year in a row in the Short Form category; a consecutive win also went to the writing team behind The Amazing World of Gumball.

Sam Nixon & Mark Rhodes celebrated winning their first BAFTA in the Presenter category for Sam & Mark’s Big Friday Wind Up. Also celebrating the first BAFTA win of his career was actor Bobby Lockwood, who triumphed in the Performer category for his role as Rhydian Morris in supernatural drama Wolfblood.

Room on the Broom, the animated adaptation of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's picture book won in the Animation category, which was sponsored by Toon Boom. Timmy Time triumphed in Pre-school Animation and the BAFTA for Pre-School Live Action went to CBeebies’ Ugly Duckling.

CBeebies won the prestigious Channel of the Year award, the fourth time the channel was victorious in this category, last winning in 2011. Somethin’ Else, which produces content for a wide range of platforms, picked up its first BAFTA for Independent Production Company.

In the Feature Film category Brave, Paranorman and Wreck-It Ralph were all beaten to the Award by Life of Pi, the critically acclaimed box-office smash adapted from the best-selling novel.

Children of World War 2 won Learning – Primary and Just a Few Drinks won Learning – Secondary, both were produced by educational production company Evans Woolfe Media.

Skylanders Giants won in the Game category; Moshi Monsters, the website where children adopt their own monster, won the Original Interactive category and Kinect Sesame Street TV picked up the BAFTA for Multiplatform.

Help! My Supply Teacher is Still Magic received their first win in Entertainment; The Dumping Ground won the BAFTA for Drama; Operation Ouch triumphed in Factual and wacky animation Adventure Time fought off the competition to win the International category.

In recognition of an outstanding creative contribution to the industry, the Special Award was presented to Biddy Baxter, best known as Editor of Blue Peter from 1962 to 1988, during which time the program won 22 awards and Biddy herself received 12 BAFTA nominations, winning two. Together with Edward Barnes and Rosemary Gill, Biddy devised the Blue Peter Badge and instigated the annual Blue Peter Appeals, which have raised millions of pounds for charities at home and abroad. On hearing she was selected to receive the Award, Biddy said: “I’ve been incredibly lucky to have had such a long and rewarding broadcasting career, and to have worked with such talented and creative colleagues and so many outstanding presenters! Thank you BAFTA so very much for this unexpected and greatly prized Award.”

The results were also announced for the BAFTA Kids’ Vote. Hundreds of thousands of votes were cast by 7-14 year-olds who had their say in a nationwide poll to choose their favorite film, television program, website and game. The winners in the four categories were: Despicable Me 2 (Feature Film), Jessie (Television), Despicable Me: Minion Rush (Game) and Bin Weevils (Website).

The full list of winners is shown below; for the complete list of nominees, visit

Biddy Baxter

ANIMATION sponsored by Toon Boom
Room on the Broom
Magic Light Pictures/BBC One


Horrible Histories
Lion Television in association with Citrus Television/CBBC

The Dumping Ground
Elly Brewer/Stewart Svaasand/Louise Sutton

Help! My Supply Teacher Is Still Magic
Anthony Owen/Nick Hutchings/Anthony Waldron
Objective Productions/CBBC

Operation Ouch
Simone Haywood/Ian France
Maverick Television/CBBC

Life of Pi
Ang Lee/Gil Netter/David Womark
Fox 2000 Pictures/Twentieth Century Fox

Skylanders Giants
Development Team
Toys for Bob/Activision Publishing

Somethin' Else

Adventure Time
Pendleton Ward/Larry Leichliter/Kelly Crews
Cartoon Network/Cartoon Network

Children of World War 2
Harvey Woolfe/Dominic Sant/Tim Duck
Evans Woolfe Media/BBC Two Learning Zone

Just a Few Drinks
Harvey Woolfe/Dominic Sant/Tristan Anderson
Evans Woolfe Media/BBC Two Learning Zone

Kinect Sesame Street TV
Microsoft Soho Productions

Moshi Monsters
Michael Acton Smith/Steve Cleverly/Divinia Knowles
Mind Candy

Bobby Lockwood (Rhydian Morris) – Wolfblood

Timmy Time
Jackie Cockle/Liz Whitaker/David Scanlon
Aardman Animations/CBeebies

CBeebies Ugly Duckling
Angela Young/Iwan Watson/Tony Reed

Sam Nixon and Mark Rhodes – Sam and Mark’s Big Friday Wind-up

Share a Story

The Amazing World of Gumball
Cartoon Network Development Studio Europe/Cartoon Network

Jessie Disney Channel

Despicable Me: Minion Rush Gameloft

Despicable Me 2 Universal

Bin Weevils

Source: British Academy of Film and Television Arts

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.