Search form

‘The Boy and the Heron’ and ‘Poor Things’ Nab Wins at 2024 BAFTA Awards

Hayao Miyazki’s first film in 10 years, and Yorgos Langthimos’ dark comedy were two of the big winners at last night’s 2024 EE British Academy Film Awards; Christopher Nolan's 'Oppenheimer' led all films with 7 wins.

Hayao Miyazaki’s The Boy and the Heron and Yorgos Langthimos’ Poor Things were two of the big winners at last night’s 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards in a ceremony hosted by David Tennant at The Royal Festival Hall in London and broadcast on BBC One and iPlayer. 

Miyazaki’s first film in 10 years beat out Aardman’s Chicken Run: Dawn of The Nugget, Disney/Pixar’s Elemental, and Sony Pictures Animation’s Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse for best animated film.

Yorgos Langthimos’ Poor Things won five BAFTAs: Leading Actress for Emma Stone; Costume, Make Up & Hair, Production Design and Special Visual Effects. In the visual effects category, it competed against 20th Century Studios’ The Creator, Marvel Studios’ Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, Paramount Pictures’ Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One, and Columbia Pictures’ Napoleon.

Oppenheimer won seven BAFTAs: Best Film; Director for Christopher Nolan; Leading Actor for Cillian Murphy; Supporting Actor for Robert Downey Jr.; Cinematography; Editing, and Original Score. 

Here’s a rundown of the best films, animated films, and visual effects-driven nominees (a complete list of nominees is available here):

Best Film

  • Anatomy Of a Fall - Marie-Ange Luciani, David Thion
  • The Holdovers - Mark Johnson
  • Killers of the Flower Moon - Dan Friedkin, Daniel Lupi, Martin Scorsese, Bradley Thomas
  • Oppenheimer - Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven, Emma Thomas
  • Poor Things - Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Andrew Lowe, Emma Stone

Outstanding British Film

  • All of Us Strangers - Andrew Haigh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Sarah Harvey
  • How To Have Sex - Molly Manning Walker, Emily Leo, Ivana MacKinnon, Konstantinos Kontovrakis
  • Napoleon - Ridley Scott, Mark Huffam, Kevin J. Walsh, David Scarpa
  • The Old Oak - Ken Loach, Rebecca O'Brien, Paul Laverty
  • Poor Things - Yorgos Lanthimos, Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Emma Stone, Tony McNamara
  • Rye Lane - Raine Allen-Miller, Yvonne Isimeme Ibazebo, Damian Jones, Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia
  • Saltburn - Emerald Fennell, Josey McNamara, Margot Robbie
  • Scrapper - Charlotte Regan, Theo Barrowclough
  • Wonka - Paul King, Alexandra Derbyshire, David Heyman, Simon Farnaby
  • The Zone of Interest - Jonathan Glazer, James Wilson, Ewa Puszczyńska

Animated Film

  • The Boy and The Heron - Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki
  • Chicken Run: Dawn of The Nugget - Sam Fell, Leyla Hobart, Steve Pegram
  • Elemental - Peter Sohn, Denise Ream
  • Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse - Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, Justin K. Thompson, Avi Arad, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, Amy Pascal, Christina Steinberg

Production Design

  • Barbie Sarah - Greenwood, Katie Spencer
  • Killers of the Flower Moon - Jack Fisk, Adam Willis
  • Oppenheimer - Ruth De Jong, Claire Kaufman
  • Poor Things Shona - Heath, James Price, Zsuzsa Mihalek
  • The Zone of Interest - Chris Oddy, Joanna Maria Kuś, Katarzyna Sikora

Special Visual Effects

  • The Creator - Jonathan Bullock, Charmaine Chan, Ian Comley, Jay Cooper
  • Guardians Of the Galaxy Vol. 3 - Theo Bialek, Stephane Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot, Guy Williams
  • Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One ­- Neil Corbould, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland, Alex Wuttke
  • Napoleon - Henry Badgett, Neil Corbould, Charley Henley, Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet
  • Poor Things - Simon Hughes

British Short Animation

  • Crab Day - Ross Stringer, Bartosz Stanislawek, Aleksandra Sykulak
  • Visible Mending - Samantha Moore, Tilley Bancroft
  • Wild Summon - Karni Arieli, Saul Freed, Jay Woolley

Source: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.