Search form

Bonnie Arnold Elected to Academy of Governors

ILM’s John Knoll re-elected to the visual effects branch in annual vote.

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced its newly elected 2018–19 board of governors, who assume their posts as of July 1. Additions include Bonnie Arnold, president of feature animation at DreamWorks Animation. 

Those elected to the board for the first time are:

  • Alfred Molina, actors branch
  • Tom Duffield, designers branch
  • Susanne Bier, directors branch
  • Bonnie Arnold, short films and feature animation branch

Incumbent governors re-elected to the board include:

  • Bernard Telsey, casting directors branch
  • Daryn Okada, cinematographers branch
  • Rory Kennedy, documentary branch
  • Jim Gianopulos, executives branch
  • Carol Littleton, film editors branch
  • Lois Burwell, makeup artists and hairstylists branch
  • Michael Giacchino, music branch
  • Scott Millan, sound branch
  • John Knoll, visual effects branch
  • Billy Ray, writers branch

Returning to the board after a hiatus are:

  • Jeffrey Kurland, costume designers branch
  • Sid Ganis, public relations branch

The balloting in the academy’s producers branch produced a tie between candidates Jason Blum and Jennifer Todd, necessitating a runoff election. Voting will begin June 18 and end June 19. The academy last held a runoff election in 2016 for the film editors branch.

The academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The board of governors sets the academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

For a full list of the 2017-2018 academy governors, click here.

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Thomas J. McLean's picture

Tom McLean has been writing for years about animation from a secret base in Los Angeles.