Search form

ASIFA Austria Announces Best Austrian Animation 2021 Online Screening

Free program of award-winning animated films runs May 2-9; Best Film category tied with awards going to ‘Crisis’ by Leopold Maurer and ‘Zakar - Überdenken des öffentlichen Raums in Zeiten von AI,’ by OUT!.

ASIFA Austria has announced an online screening featuring the Best Austrian Animation 2021 - Award Winners. All winners were decided by Jury and Audience with awards presented at the Closing Ceremony of the Best Austrian Animation Festival in Vienna on the April 28.

A free online program featuring all the winners will be available internationally from May 2-9 here. The festival which was originally planned for November 2021 but was pushed to April due to COVID lockdowns. It took place from April 25-30 in Vienna.

The winners:

Best Film (tie):

  • Crisis by Leopold Maurer
  • Zakar - Überdenken des öffentlichen Raums in Zeiten von AI (Reflecting public space in times of AI) by OUT! (Andra Băltiou, Davide Porta, Juaniko Moreno, Marco Camargo, Sandro Miccoli, Wei Wu)

Best Student Film (tie):

  • Mmmh (Kinetical & P.tah; prod. by Osive) by Jakob Jakubowski
  • Calcium Tears by Janka Dósa (winner of Best Student and Audience Award)

Best Commissioned Film:

  • SLASH Filmfestival - Trailer 2021 by HYPHE (Franz Mühringer, Elias Fleischer)

Best Narrative Film:

  • Es ist genau genug Zeit (It's exactly enough time) by Oskar Salomonowitz, Virgil Widrich

Best Experimental Film:

  • Warten (Waiting) by Bernd Oppl

Best Experimental Film:

  • Auf dem Grund des Wäschekorbs (On the bottom of the laundrybag) by Adele Razkövi

Best Digital Technique:

  • HELLBRUNN - History refreshingly new by signSTUDIOS (Patrick Guendera, Simon Wendler, Stefan Pausch, Sibylle Kampl)

Best Music Video (tie):

  • Come on Down by offfen (Katharina Lutzky, Pia Reschberger, Leonie Schlager)
  • I’m Not There (Leyya) - Roberto Roboto

Best Sound:

  • Shattered Identity by Bernd Ammann, Ulrich Frey, Fabian Lang

Audience Award - Music Video:

  • Thar Liggur Hundurinn Grafinn by Simon Skrepek

Audience Award - Commissioned Films (tied):

  • Coming of Age by Caro Laa
  • Vor der Melodie (Before Melody) by Wolfgang Lackner, Claudia Unterkofler

Audience Award-Independent 1:

  • The River – Amplified Švorc Cave Choir Orchestra Edition by David Kellner

Audience Award-Independent 2:

  • Amazon Woman by Anna Vasof

For additional information and the full list of winners visit the event website.

Additional information is also available on

Source: ASIFA Austria

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.