Search form

ASC Names 2015 Television Nominees

‘Marco Polo’ and ‘Gotham’ lead with multiple nods from the American Society of Cinematographers.

LOS ANGELES -- The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has named its television nominees for the 30th Annual Outstanding Achievement Awards. Winners will be announced on February 14, 2016, at the organization’s annual ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

Demonstrating some of best work in television cinematography according to the blue ribbon jury of ASC active members that voted on submissions, this year’s nominees are:

Episode of a Regular Series:

  • Vanja Cernjul, ASC, HFS for Marco Polo, “The Fourth Step” (NETFLIX)
  • David Greene, CSC for 12 Monkeys, “Mentally Divergent” (SYFY)
  • Christopher Norr for Gotham, “Strike Force” (FOX)
  • Crescenzo Notarile, ASC, AIC for Gotham, “Scarification” (FOX)
  • Fabian Wagner, BSC for Game Of Thrones, “Hardhome” (HBO)

Television Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot:

  • Martin Ahlgren for Blindspot pilot (NBC)
  • Pierre Gill, CSC for Casanova (AMAZON)
  • James Hawkinson for The Man In The High Castle pilot (AMAZON)
  • Jeffrey Jur, ASC for Bessie (HBO)
  • Romain Lacourbas for Marco Polo pilot (NETFLIX)

“These talented individuals have earned the admiration of their fellow cinematographers for their tremendous artistry,” says Daryn Okada, ASC, who chairs the organization’s Awards Committee. “There is a lot of truly outstanding and innovative imagery being created for television, and the work of these directors of photography exemplifies the high standards being set.”

Jur has earned ASC Awards for his work on Last Call (2003) and Carnivale (2004), as well as additional noms for Carnivale (2006) and Flashforward (2010).

Gill won an ASC Award in 2004 for Hitler: The Rise of Evil, and has received nods for JOAN OF ARC (2000) and THE BORGIAS (2014).

This is Greene’s third nomination following recognition for The Trip To Bountiful (2015) and Beauty And The Beast (2014).

Cernjul, Norr, and Wagner have all been previously nominated for Outstanding Achievement Awards: Cernjul for Bored To Death (2012); Norr for Gotham (2015) and Wagner for Game Of Thrones (2015).

Source: The American Society of Cinematographers

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.