Search form

Art Directors Guild Announces Noms for Excellence in Film and TV Production Design

DreamWorks Animation’s ‘Abominable,' Disney’s ‘Frozen 2,’ DreamWorks Animation’s ‘How to Train Your Dragon: Hidden World,’ Disney’s ‘The Lion King’ and Pixar’s ‘Toy Story 4’ are nominated in animated film category. 

The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) has just announced its nominations for the 24th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards.

In the Animated Film category, DreamWorks Animation’s ‘Abominable, Disney’s ‘Frozen 2,’ DreamWorks Animation’s ‘How to Train Your Dragon: Hidden World,’ Disney’s ‘The Lion King’ and Pixar’s ‘Toy Story 4’ were nominated; in the Fantasy Film category, 20th Century Fox’s Ad Astra, Disney’s Aladdin, Marvel’s Avengers: Endgame, Disney’s Dumbo, Disney’s Maleficent: Mistress of Evil and Lucasfim’s Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker were nominated.

Other notable films receiving nominations were the VFX-driven Ford v Ferrari, John Wick Chapter 3 - Parabellum, The Irishman and 1917, as well as Chernobyl, Game of Thrones, The Mandelorian and The Umbrella Academy. Two ties in the Period and Fantasy Film categories led to six nominees in each of those categories.

The complete list of nominations is as follows:

Nominations for Excellence in Production Design for a Feature Film:

Period Film

  • Ford v Ferrari, François Audouy
  • The Irishman, Bob Shaw
  • Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent
  • Joker, Mark Friedberg
  • 1917, Dennis Gassner
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Barbara Ling

Fantasy Film

  • Ad Astra, Kevin Thompson
  • Aladdin, Gemma Jackson
  • Avengers: Endgame, Charles Wood
  • Dumbo, Rick Heinrichs
  • Maleficent: Mistress of Evil, Patrick Tatopoulos
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Rick Carter, Kevin Jenkins

Contemporary Film

  • A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, Jade Healy
  • John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum, Kevin Kavanaugh
  • Knives Out, David Crank
  • Parasite, Lee Ha-Jun
  • Us, Ruth De Jong

Animated Film

  • Abominable, Max Boas
  • Frozen 2, Michael Giaimo
  • How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, Pierre-Olivier Vincent
  • The Lion King, James Chinlund
  • Toy Story 4, Bob Pauley

Nominations for Excellence in Production Design for Television:

One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series

  • A Series of Unfortunate Events: ‘Penultimate Peril: Part 1,' Bo Welch
  • The Crown: ‘Aberfan,' Martin Childs
  • Game of Thrones: ‘The Bells,' Deborah Riley
  • The Mandalorian: ‘Chapter One,' Andrew L. Jones
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: ‘Ep. 305, Ep. 308,' Bill Groom

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series

  • Big Little Lies: ‘What Have They Done?’ ‘The Bad Mother,’ ‘I Want to Know,' John Paino
  • The Boys: ‘The Female of the Species,' Dave Blass
  • Euphoria: ‘The Trials and Tribulations of Trying to Pee While Depressed,’ ‘And Salt the Earth Behind You,' Kay Lee
  • The Handmaid’s Tale: ‘Mayday,' Elizabeth Williams
  • The Umbrella Academy: ‘We Only See Each Other at Weddings and Funerals,' Mark Worthington

Television Movie or Limited Series

  • Black Mirror: ‘Striking Vipers,' Anne Beauchamp
  • Catch-22, David Gropman
  • Chernobyl, Luke Hull
  • Deadwood, Maria Caso
  • Fosse/Verdon, Alex DiGerlando

Half-Hour Single-Camera Series

  • Barry: ‘ronny/lily,' Tyler B. Robinson
  • Fleabag: ‘Ep. 5,' Jonathan Paul Green
  • GLOW: ‘Up, Up, Up,' Todd Fjelsted
  • The Good Place: ‘Employee of the Bearimy,’ ‘Help Is Other People,' Ian Phillips
  • Russian Doll: ‘Nothing in This World is Easy,' Michael Bricker

Multi-Camera Series

  • The Big Bang Theory: ‘The Stockholm Syndrome,’ ‘The Conference Valuation,’ ‘The Propagation Proposition,' John Shaffner
  • The Cool Kids: ‘Vegas, Baby!' Stephan Olson
  • Family Reunion: ‘Remember Black Elvis?' Aiyanna Trotter
  • No Good Nick: ‘The Italian Job,' Kristan Andrews
  • Will & Grace: ‘Family, Trip,’ ‘The Things We Do for Love,’ ‘Conscious Coupling,' Glenda Rovello

Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial

  • Apple: It’s Tough Out There, Quito Cooksey
  • Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus, Lana Del Rey: Don’t Call Me Angel, Emma Fairley
  • MedMen: The New Normal, James Chinlund
  • Portal for Facebook: A Very Muppet Portal Launch, Alex DiGerlando
  • Taylor Swift: Lover, Kurt Gefke

Variety, Reality or Event Special

  • Drunk History: Are You Afraid of the Drunk? Monica Sotto
  • 91st Oscars, David Korins
  • Rent: Live, Jason Sherwood
  • Saturday Night Live: ‘1764 Emma Stone,’ ‘1762 Sandra Oh,’ ‘1760 John Mulaney,' Keith Raywood, Akira Yoshimura, Joe DeTullio, Eugene Lee
  • Taylor Swift Reputation Stadium Tour, Tamlyn Wright, Baz Halpin

Winners will be announced at the ADG’s 24th annual Awards, February 1, 2020 at the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown.

Source: The Art Directors Guild

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.