Search form

Annie Award Nominations Announced

The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announces nominations for its 40th annual Annie Awards recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation.

BURBANK, CA – The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announced nominations for its 40th annual Annie Awards recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation. The Annie Awards cover 30 categories and include Best Animated Feature, Best Animated Special Production, Commercials, Short Subjects and Outstanding Individual Achievements.

The slate of nominations for Best Animated Features this year includes: Brave (Pixar Animation Studios), Frankenweenie (The Walt Disney Studio), Hotel Transylvania (Sony Animation Studios), ParaNorman (Focus Features), Rise of the Guardians (DreamWorks Animation), The Pirates! Band of Misfits (Aardman Animations), The Rabbi’s Cat (GKIDS), and Wreck-It Ralph (Walt Disney Animation Studios).

“I am very exited about this year’s slate of nominees!” remarked ASIFA-Hollywood president, Frank Gladstone. “We had more submissions to choose from this year than for any prior year in Annie Award history, running the gamut from big studio features to indie films, television series to internet shows, games, shorts and, for the first time, student films, all showcasing the huge variety of venues, creativity, technical innovation, and story-telling that our art form has to offer.”

Winners will be announced at the 40th Annual Annie Awards ceremony on Saturday, February 2, 2013 at UCLA’s Royce Hall, in Los Angeles, CA.  For a complete list of Annie Award nominations, ticket and event information, please visit

Juried awards honoring career achievement and exceptional contributions to animation will also be awarded. Three Winsor McCay recipients have been selected by the ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors - Oscar Grillo, Terry Gilliam and Mark Henn for their career contributions to the art of animation; June Foray Award – Howard Green for his significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation; and Ub Iwerks – Toon Boom Animation/Toon Boom Animation Pipeline for technical advancements that make a significant impact on the art or industry of animation.

The Annie Awards black-tie ceremony will feature a lively mix of animation luminaries, celebrity presenters and comedic talent to celebrate the animation industry’s best of the best.  A pre-reception and press line begins at 5:00 pm with the awards ceremony following at 7:00 pm.  A post-show celebration immediately follows the ceremony.  All events will be held at Royce Hall on the campus of UCLA.

ASIFA-Hollywood is the world’s first and foremost professional organization dedicated to promoting the art of animation and celebrating the people who create it. Today, ASIFA-Hollywood, the largest chapter of the international organization ASIFA, supports a range of animation activities and preservation efforts through its membership. Current initiatives include the animation archive, animation film preservation, special events, classes and screenings.         

Created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray, the Annie Awards have grown in scope and stature for four decades. For up-to-the minute information on the Annie Awards, please visit  And, for information on ASIFA-Hollywood, please visit

Source: ASIFA-Hollywood

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.