Search form

animago AWARDS Announces 2018 Nominees

Thirty-six 3D animation & design, visual effects, visualization and AR/VR nominees selected from 856 submissions from 61 countries.

MoPA short ‘Hybrids,’ by Florian Brauch, Matthieu Pujol, Kim Tailhades, Yohan Thireau and Romain Thirion, is nominated for best character design at the 2018 animago Awards.

MUNICH -- The nominees for the 2018 animago AWARDS are in! An independent jury of experts sifted through nearly 900 submissions from 61 countries to find the final 36 nominees for the animago’s twelve categories. The 2018 animago AWARDS will be handed out on 25th October 2018 during the animago CONFERENCE (October 25 & 26) at Munich Gasteig Cultural Centre. The animago AWARD is an international competition aimed at creatives from all around the world who are invited to submit their work in the realms of 3D Animation & Still, Visual Effects, Visualization and AR/VR/360°.

Here are the 2018 animago AWARD nominees:

Best Feature Film (public voting)

  • Avengers: Infinity War, Marvel Studios, Walt Disney Pictures, USA
  • Jim Knopf und Lukas der Lokomotivführer, Rat Pack Filmproduktion, Malao Film, Studio Babelsberg, Warner Bros., Germany
  • Ready Player One, Amblin Entertainment, De Line Pictures, Dune Entertainment, Farah Films & Management, Reliance Entertainment, Village Roadshow Pictures, Warner Bros., USA

Best VR/AR/360°

  • Conscious Existence, Marc Zimmermann, Felix Fahle, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Huxley, Exit Adventures, Sven Haeberlein, Germany
  • LEGO News Show: Into the wild, fuel new media, Paul Schlichter, Germany for LEGO Group

Best Still

  • Albert Einstein, LotusArt, Alexander Beim, Germany
  • Nööburgring, Piotr Tatar, Poland
  • Rubikon, Christian Behrendt, Germany

Best Visual Effects

  • Babylon Berlin, RISE | Visual Effects Studios, Germany for X-Filme
  • Die VFX-Welten von Jim Knopf, Trixter, RISE | Visual EffectsStudios, Scanline VFX, Mackevision Medien Design, Chimney, Germany for Rat Pack, Warner Bros. and Malao Film
  • Game of Thrones Season 7, Rodeo FX, Canada for HBO

Best Game Cinematic

  • Hearth and Home, Blizzard Entertainment, Jeramiah Johnson, Taka Yasuda, David Satchwell, Jake Patton, USA
  • Beyond Good & Evil 2 E3 2018 Trailer, Unit Image, Franche for Ubisoft Montpellier
  • Overkill’s The Walking Dead – Grant, Goodbye Kansas Studios, Sweden for Starbreeze Studios & Overkill Software

Best Short Film

  • Mecanic, Julia Baurens, Sofia Bernardo, Naïti Escot, Nicolas Jacomet, Ariane Lissajoux, Antoine Verney-Carron, ESMA, France
  • Tweet-Tweet, CGF, Zhanna Bekmambetova, Russia
  • The Bolt Connection, Nicolas Lebas, Claire Cartier, Mathilde Dourdy, Thibault Grunenberger, Maurine Lecerf, Shih-Hui Pan, Supinfocom Rubika, France

Best Advertising Production

  • ASN Bank - Day Fly, Ambassadors VFX, Vincent Lammers, The Netherlands for ASN Bank
  • EnBW - Guter Stoff, Sehsucht for Jung von Matt, EnBW, Germany
  • 2018 FIFA World Cup Drone Film – Budweiser, Blacksmith, Jake Scott, USA for Budweiser

Best Character

  • Hybrids, Florian Brauch, Matthieu Pujol, Kim Tailhades, Yohan Thireau, Romain Thirion, MOPA, France
  • The green bird, Pierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, Irina Nguyen-Duc, Quentin Dubois, MOPA, France
  • The Box, Bugbrain Institute for Animation, Dušan Kastelic, Mateja Starič, Slovenia

Best Visualization

  • Martin Luther - A most precise and nuanced look into the life of the man legend and visionary, Tumblehead Animation Studio, Magnus Igland Møller, Denmark
  • Plastic Ocean, Fred & Farid New York, Laurent Leccia, Michael Hess, USA for Sea Shepherd
  • Peta - Best friend, Mackevision Medien Design, Germany

Best Young Production (carries prize money contributed by DIGITAL PRODUCTION totaling €3,000)

  • Hors Piste, Léo Brunel, Loris Cavalier, Camille Jalabert, Oscar Mallet, Ecole des Nouvelles Images, France
  • Wild Love, Paul Autric, Quentin Camus, Maryka Laudet, Léa Georges, Zoé Sottiaux, Corentin Yvergniaux, Ecole des Nouvelles Images, France
  • The Stained Club, Mélanie Lopez, Simon Boucly, Marie Ciesielski, Alice Jaunet, Chan Stéphie Peang, Béatrice Viguier, Supinfocom Rubika, France

Best Motion Design

  • You Are Wanted / Season 2 Opener, Delirium Entertainment, Andy Bittner, Germany for PANTALEON Films
  • The Division 2 - Der Untergang von Washington D.C, Antibody, Patrick Clair for Ubisoft, Germany
  • The Unconquered, Juice, Michał Misiński, Polen for Instytut Pamięci Narodowej

Jury’s Prize

  • Mayday - Final Chapter, Grass Jelly Studio, Taiwan for Mayday, B’in Music
  • La Noria, NightWheel Pictures, Carlos Baena, Spain
  • Miazmat, Platige Image, Klaudiusz Wesolowski, Poland

The submitted works are viewed and evaluated by an independent jury of experts. Hamburg-based graphic designer and freelance editor Günter Hagedorn, who has managed the animago competition since it was founded 21 years ago, acts as head of the jury. This year’s jury members are the character animator and filmmaker Melanie Beissswenger (Happy Feet, Happy Feet 2, Iron Man 3), Alexander Bouquet, Chief Production Officer at the ad agency JUNG VON MATT, Prof. Thomas Gronert, Head of Department, Digital Film Design at Mediadesign Hochschule in Munich, Tobias Hager, Editor-in-Chief, DIGITAL PRODUCTION, the graphic & motion designer Elisa Krenz, Sarah Neuner, CEO at Liga 01, Tim Rau, Director Marketing Tranformation at 3DExcite, Tom Sporer, 3D Generalist and VFX Supervisor and Matthias Zabiegly, Senior 3D at Aixsponza.

This year’s guest jurors include Daniel Curio, Director of the Department of Film/Game policy and funding at the Bavarian State Chancellery and Jürgen Korbinian Enninger, Head of Munich’s Expert Team on Culture and the Creative Industries.

The animago CONFERENCE offers a program of keynote addresses, lectures and workshops that serve to connect the creative community with an audience of international experts and film and media enthusiasts. This year’s sponsor partners include Avid, Chaos Group, Esri, Insta LOD, Maxon Computer, NEC Display Solutions Europe and Wacom. Funding partners are the Bavarian State Chancellery as well as the City of Munich’s Culture and Creative Industries Team. The animago is organized by the German-language trade magazine DIGITAL PRODUCTION, The publisher of DIGITAL PRODUCTION is DETAIL Business Information GmbH,

Source: animago AWARDS & CONFERENCE