Search form

Anima 2004 / Brussels Announces Winners

Anima 2004, the 23rd Animation Festival drew to a close on February 29, 2004 in Brussels with an Awards ceremony for Anima 2004's national and international competition. This was the first time Anima organized an international competition for both short and feature films. The award-winners were chosen by the public, via attendance and voting at the official competition screenings.

The award were:Anima 2004 Award -- Short Student FilmsDAHUCAPRA RAPIDAHU by Frédérique Gyuran, Vincent Gautier and Thibault Bérard (France)

Anima 2004 Award -- Short FilmsBUTTERFLY by Corin Hardy (Great Britain)

Anima 2004 Award -- Feature FilmsTHE CAT RETURNS by Satoshi Hiroyuki (Japan)

Canal + Feature Film AwardTHE CAT RETURNS by Satoshi Hiroyuki (Japan)

Anima 2004 Grand Prix de la Région de Bruxelles CapitaleMOODSWING by Pieter Coudyzer

Anima 2004 Grand Prix de la Communauté française:JAN HERMANN by l'Atelier Collectif Zorobabel

SACD PrizeLE LOCATAIRE by Michel Lefèvre

Sabam Prize:MR. J. RUSSEL by Wouter Sel

Anima 2004's nominees for the Cartoon d'Or were Anima's two international competition winners and the two national competition winners, Corin Hardy's BUTTERFLY, Frédérique Gyuran, Vincent Gautier and Thibault Bérard's DAHUCAPRA RAPIDAHU, Pieter Coudyzer's MOODSWING and l'Atelier Collectif Zorobabel's JAN HERMANN.

Over 11 days an enormous and hugely enthusiastic audience poured into the Auditorium du Passage 44 and the Botanique de Bruxelles, and also in Liège at the Parc and Churchill cinemas. The numerous events offered included activities for children, lectures, high-level masterclasses, special programs and retrospectives. Anima 2005 will take place in Brussels from Feb. 2 12, 2005.

For more information, visit

Rick DeMott's picture

Rick DeMott
Animation World Network
Creator of Rick's Flicks Picks