Search form

Advanced Imaging Society Unveils 2018 Technology Lumiere Award Honorees

DreamWorks Animation, Google VR, NVIDIA, The Mill, and the USC Institute for Creative Technologies among 15 award recipients to be honored at 9th Technology Lumiere Awards.

The Mill will be honored at the 9th Technology Lumiere Awards for its real-time animation system, Mascot.

The Advanced Imaging Society has revealed the list of technology developers to be honored at the 9th annual Technology Lumiere Awards, according to a report by The Hollywood Reporter.

The AIS Technology Award program annually acknowledges and celebrates technologies and processes demonstrating both innovation and impact in advancing the future of the entertainment and media industries including but not limited to theatrical, television broadcast, video, virtual reality, augmented reality, mixed reality, stereoscopic 3D, themed attractions, and other forms of relevant content.

This year’s ceremony, which will be held in Hollywood in December, will recognize 15 technologies and their developers:

  • Apple ProRes Raw codec
  • IBM Watson computer incorporating AI
  • DreamWorks Animation’s VDM data structure system
  • NVIDIA GeForce RTX graphics cards

  • Google VR
  • Cisco’s broadcast production virtualization system
  • Felix and Paul’s dynamic projection workflow for stereoscopic 360-degree live video
  • USC Institute for Creative Technologies’ HDR-image based lighting
  • The Mill’s Mascot real-time animation system
  • Mach 1’s spatial sound system workflow
  • MTT Innovations’ HDR light-steering cinema projector
  • Positron’s Voyager chair for immersive experiences
  • RYOT’s Yahoo Mail AR
  • Secret Location’s Vuser Spark technology for content rights management
  • Survios’ Electronauts VR music creation tool

“We were impressed this year by both the stature of the companies participating in the honors process and the wide range of technologies which are now empowering creative people with tools to excite audiences worldwide,” said AIS president Jim Chabin in a statement to THR.

The list of Distinguished Leadership Award winners will be announced in the coming weeks. Last year’s honorees included Victoria Alonso, Executive Vice President of Physical Production for Marvel Studios; Vicky Colf – Chief Technology Officer, Warner Bros. Entertainment; Karen Dufilho, Executive Producer at Google Spotlight Stories; JoAnne Kim, Feature Post Production Technology at Legendary Entertainment; and Bettina Sherick, SVP, Consumer Insights and Innovation at 20th Century Fox.

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.