Search form

ACE Announces 67th Annual Eddie Award Winners

‘Zootopia,’ edited by Fabienne Rawley & Jeremy Milton, wins Best Edited Animated Feature Film at the 67th annual ACE Eddie Awards.

BEVERLY HILLS – Arrival (edited by Joe Walker, ACE) and La La Land (edited by Tom Cross, ACE) won Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) and Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy) respectively at the 67th Annual ACE Eddie Awards where trophies were handed out recognizing the best editing of 2016 in ten categories of film, television and documentaries. The black-tie ceremony, presented by American Cinema Editors (ACE), was held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel with more than 1,000 in attendance to celebrate. ACE President Stephen Rivkin, ACE, presided over the evening’s festivities with actress Rachel Bloom (Crazy Ex-Girlfriend) serving as the evening’s host.

Zootopia (edited by Fabienne Rawley & Jeremy Milton) won Best Edited Animated Feature Film and O.J.: Made in America (edited by Bret Granato, Maya Mumma & Ben Sozanski) won Best Edited Documentary (Feature).

Television winners included Veep: Morning After (edited by Steven Rasch, ACE) for Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television, This is Us: Pilot (edited by David L. Bertman, ACE) for Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial television, Game of Thrones: Battle of the Bastards (edited by Tim Porter, ACE) for Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television, All The Way (edited by Carol Littleton, ACE) for Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television, and Anthony Bourdain – Parts Unknown: Seneghal (edited by Mustafa Bhagat) for Best Edited Non-Scripted Series and Everything is Copy – Nora Ephron: Scripted & Unscripted (edited by Bob Eisenhardt, ACE) In the Best Edited Documentary (Television) category.

Oscar nominated director of Arrival, Denis Villeneuve presented the Student Editing award honor to Tommy Wakefield of University of North Carolina, School of the Arts who beat out hundreds of competitors from film schools and universities around the country.

Groundbreaking director/producer J.J. Abrams received the organization’s prestigious ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor, which was presented to him by friend and collaborator Jeff Garlin. Abrams joins an impressive list of filmmakers who have received ACE’s highest honor, including Norman Jewison, Nancy Meyers, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, Robert Zemeckis, Alexander Payne, Ron Howard, Martin Scorsese, George Lucas, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg, Christopher Nolan, Frank Marshall and Richard Donner, among others.

Janet Ashikaga, ACE and Thelma Schoonmaker, ACE were presented with Career Achievement awards by Thomas Schlamme and Martin Scorsese respectively. Their work was highlighted with clip reels exhibiting their tremendous contributions to film and television throughout their careers.

Other presenters at the ACE Eddie Awards included Moonlight star Trevante Rhodes, Fences stars Mykelti Williamson and Saniyya Sidney, Chrissy Metz (This is Us) and actor Tim Matheson.

A full list of winners follows:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic):
Arrival, Joe Walker, ACE

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy):
La La Land, Tom Cross, ACE

Best Edited Animated Feature Film:
Zootopia, Fabienne Rawley & Jeremy Milton

Best Edited Documentary (Feature):
O.J.: Made in America, Bret Granato, Maya Mumma & Ben Sozanski

Best Edited Documentary (Television):
Everything Is Copy – Nora Ephron: Scripted & Unscripted, Bob Eisenhardt, ACE

Best Edited Half-Hour Series For Television:
Veep: “Morning After,” Steven Rasch, ACE

Best Edited One-Hour Series For Commercial Television:
This is Us: “Pilot,” David L. Bertman, ACE

Best Edited One-Hour Series For Non-Commercial Television:
Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards,” Tim Porter, ACE

Best Edited Miniseries Or Motion Picture For Television:
All the Way, Carol Littleton, ACE

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series:
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown: “Senegal,” Mustafa Bhagat

Student Competition:
Tommy Wakefield – University of North Carolina, School of the Arts

American Cinema Editors (ACE) is an honorary society of motion picture editors founded in 1950. Film editors are voted into membership on the basis of their professional achievements, their dedication to the education of others and their commitment to the craft of editing.

The objectives and purposes of the American Cinema Editors are to advance the art and science of the editing profession; to increase the entertainment value of motion pictures by attaining artistic pre-eminence and scientific achievement in the creative art of editing; to bring into close alliance those editors who desire to advance the prestige and dignity of the editing profession.

ACE produces several annual events including EditFest (an international editing festival), Invisible Art/Visible Artists (annual panel of Oscar nominated editors), and the ACE Eddie Awards, now in its 67th year, recognizing outstanding editing in ten categories of film, television and documentaries. The organization publishes a quarterly magazine, CinemaEditor, highlighting the art, craft and business of editing and editors.

Source: American Cinema Editors