Search form

Academy Unveils Finalists for 2018 Student Academy Awards

Four international and seven U.S.-made animated short films named finalists for the 2018 Student Academy Awards.

‘a blink of an eye’ (‘Augenblicke’) directed by Kiana Naghshineh (Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg).

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has unveiled the finalists for the 2018 Student Academy Awards.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to Past winners have gone on to receive 59 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 10 awards. Past Student Academy Award winners include filmmakers Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, John Lasseter, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis.

The full list of finalists for the 2018 Student Academy Awards is shown below:

Alternative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Sang Hyoun Han aka DOMCAKE, Emunah, School of Visual Arts
  • Shae Demandt, Reanimated, Florida State University
  • Natalia Hermida, Transient Passengers (Experiment Number NÜN), Chapman University

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Victoria Lopez and Ji young Na, Attack of the Potato Clock, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Yu Yu, Daisy, University of Southern California
  • Alex Avagimian, Little Bandits, California Institute of the Arts
  • Hanna Kim, Raccoon and the Light, California Institute of the Arts
  • Sagar Arun and Rachel Kral, Rebooted, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Hannah Park, Reflection, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Eaza Shukla, Re-Gifted, Ringling College of Art and Design

Animation (International Film Schools)

  • Kiana Naghshineh, a blink of an eye (Augenblicke), Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg
  • Jacques Leyreloup, Victor Tolila, Perrine Renard, Laura Viver Canal and Gaël Chauvet, L’Aviatrice, ESMA
  • Alexandre Blain, Lucas Germain, Christophe Gigot, Jade Guilbault, Andreas Muller and Simon Puculek, Meli-Metro, ESMA
  • Pierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, Irina Nguyen-Duc and Quentin Dubois, The Green Bird, MoPA

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Veronica Wangshen, 1,500 Miles 23 Days, New York University
  • Mathieu Faure, An Edited Life, New York University
  • Lauren Schwartzman, Dust Rising, University of California - Berkeley
  • Jiayan Jenny Shi, Finding Yingying, Northwestern University
  • Grace Oyenubi and Nani Sahra Walker, Forced, University of California - Berkeley
  • Yiying Nikki Li, Love & Loss, University of Southern California
  • Alan Toth, Mining Phosphorus, University of California - Berkeley

Documentary (International Film Schools)

  • Annelie Boros, F32.2, University of Television and Film Munich
  • Mart Bira, “Nomadic Doctor,” University of Hertfordshire
  • Esther Niemeier, Tracing Addai, Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Erblin Nushi, BINI, George Mason University
  • Wenting Deng and Luke Fisher, Empty Skies, Ohio University
  • Brian Robau, Esta Es Tu Cuba | This is Your Cuba, Chapman Univsersity
  • Huay-Bing Law, June, University of Texas at Austin
  • Kelley Kali, Lalo’s House, University of Southern California
  • Mahaliyah Ayla O, Masks, University of Southern California
  • Kristopher D Wilson, Mid City Blue, University of California - Los Angeles
  • Gisele Tong, Spring Flower, University of Southern California

Narrative (International Film Schools)

  • István Kovács, A Siege, University of Theatre and Film Arts, Budapest
  • Lisa Gertsch, Almost Everything, Zurich University of the Arts
  • Franco Volpi, August Sun, London Film School
  • Johnny Kenton, Dead Birds, National Film and Television School
  • Jonatan Etzler, Get Ready With Me, Stockholm Academy of the Arts
  • Hans Vannetelbosch, Sons of No One, LUCA School of Arts
  • Eileen Byrne, Touch Me, Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München

The 45th Student Academy Awards presentation will be held on Thursday, October 11, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.