Search form

Academy Unveils 2015 Student Medalists

Alyce Tzue of the Academy of Art University in San Francisco wins gold medal for ‘Soar’; CalArts student Seth Boyden takes the silver for ‘An Object at Rest,’ and SVA students Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero take the bronze for ‘Taking the Plunge.’

LOS ANGELES, CA -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences honored 15 student winners from colleges and universities around the world at the 42nd Student Academy Awards ceremony, held on Thursday at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards were announced and presented by actors Michelle Rodriguez and Jason Mitchell, Oscar-winning director John Lasseter, and the Oscar-winning team behind the animated feature Big Hero 6, Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams.

The 2015 Student Academy Award winners are:


  • Gold: Chiaroscuro, Daniel Drummond, Chapman University, California
  • Silver: Zoe, ChiHyun Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York


  • Gold: Soar, Alyce Tzue, Academy of Art University, San Francisco
  • Silver: An Object at Rest, Seth Boyden, California Institute of the Arts
  • Bronze: Taking the Plunge, Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, The School of Visual Arts


  • Gold: Looking at the Stars, Alexandre Peralta, University of Southern California
  • Silver: I Married My Family’s Killer, Emily Kassie, Brown University
  • Bronze: Boxeadora, Meg Smaker, Stanford University


  • Gold: Day One, Henry Hughes, American Film Institute, California
  • Silver: This Way Up, Jeremy Cloe, American Film Institute
  • Bronze: Stealth, Bennett Lasseter, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

  • Gold: Fidelity, Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany
  • Silver: The Last Will, Dustin Loose, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany
  • Bronze: Everything Will Be Okay Patrick Vollrath, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 47 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis.

Source: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.