Search form

Academy Names New Board of Governors

Demographics will shift to 54% women and 28% underrepresented racial or ethnic groups when the appointees take office at the first board meeting of the 2022-2023 term.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced its newly elected 2022–2023 Board of Governors. The governors will take office at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term.

Elected to the Board for the first time:

  • Marlee Matlin, Actors Branch
  • Richard Hicks, Casting Directors Branch
  • Dion Beebe, Cinematographers Branch
  • Jason Reitman, Directors Branch
  • Chris Hegedus, Documentary Branch
  • Nancy Richardson, Film Editors Branch
  • Megan Colligan, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
  • Jason Blum, Producers Branch
  • Missy Parker, Production Design Branch
  • Marlon West, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Peter Devlin, Sound Branch
  • Paul Debevec, Visual Effects Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board:

  • Ruth E. Carter, Costume Designers Branch
  • Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch
  • Howard Berger, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
  • Eric Roth, Writers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus:

  • Charles Fox, Music Branch

They will join returning governors Pam Abdy; Kate Amend; Bonnie Arnold; Lesley Barber; Charles Bernstein; Susanne Bier; Jon Bloom; Gary C. Bourgeois; Rob Bredow; Brooke Breton; Paul Cameron; Eduardo Castro; Bill Corso; Teri E. Dorman; Tom Duffield; Ava DuVernay; Linda Flowers; DeVon Franklin; Rodrigo García; Whoopi Goldberg; Lynette Howell Taylor; Larry Karaszewski; Laura C. Kim; Christina Kounelias; David Linde; Isis Mussenden; Stephen Rivkin; Howard A. Rodman; Terilyn A. Shropshire; Kim Taylor-Coleman; Wynn P. Thomas; Jennifer Todd; Jean Tsien; Mandy Walker; Rita Wilson; Janet Yang; and Debra Zane.

As a result of this election, the Board is now comprised of 54% women and 28% belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms, for a lifetime maximum of 12 years. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

For a complete list of the current 2021-2022 Academy governors, click here.

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences