Search form

2024 British Animation Awards Open for Entries, Adds Int’l Animated Series Category

Also announced is the separation of long format project honors into Best Long Form Animation and Best Feature Film awards.

The 2024 British Animation Awards (BAAs) officially open for entries today with the addition of a new category for Best International Animated Series. The BAAs also announced that in response to growth in longer format projects, there will now be separate awards for Best Long Form Animation and Best Feature Film.

BAA director Helen Brunsdon stated, “The BAAs are delighted to return in 2024 to celebrate and showcase the outstanding achievements the U.K. industry has created over the last couple of years. By introducing the new Best International Animated Series category, we recognize the great collaborations of co-productions and partnerships between U.K. producers and international studios.”

For the Best International Animated Series Award, U.K. companies and individuals can enter a single animated series episode (not multiple episodes) produced in an international co-production arrangement. The BAAs welcome productions that have been majority-produced outside the U.K.

The BAA Categories include: Best Design, Best Use of Sound, Best Factual, Best Voice Performance, Best Undergraduate Film, Best Postgraduate Film, Writers Award, Lamb Award, Best Children’s Pre-School Series, Best Children’s Series, Best Music Video, Wildcard, Best Original Music, Best Animation in a Commercial, Social Good Award, Best International Animated Series, Best Long Form Animation, Best Feature Film, Audience Award, Best Short Film.

The closing date for student entries is September 29; entries in all other categories must be submitted by October 30.

Further information and submission details can be found on the British Animation Awards FilmFreeway page. General information can be found on the British Animation Awards website.

Source: The British Animation Awards

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.