Search form

2021 Canadian Screen Awards Nominations Announced

Nominated animated shorts include ‘I, Barnabé,’ ‘The Great Malaise,’ and ‘4 North A;’ winners will be announced and honored at a series of events set for May 17-20.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is the largest non-profit professional media arts organization in Canada, dedicated to developing, recognizing, celebrating, and advocating for Canadian talent in the film, television, and digital media sectors. It also produces the Canadian Screen Awards, bringing together the screen-based industry annually to celebrate the country’s top talent. Winners will be honored during a series of events from May 17-20 – the schedule is available here.

The 2021 nominees have been announced and include categories that recognize the best in animation in both short films and television series; also recognized is VFX in film with a category in Achievement in Visual Effects. These nominees include:

Best Animated Short:

  • 4 North A – Jordan Canning, Howie Shia, Annette Clarke
  • The Fourfold – Alisi Telengut
  • The Great Malaise | Le mal du siècle – Catherine Lepage, Marc Bertrand
  • Hot Flash – Thea Hollatz, Kristy Neville, Matt Code, Morghan Fortier, Brett Jubinville
  • I, Barnabé | Moi, Barnabé – Jean-François Lévesque, Julie Roy

Achievement in Visual Effects

  • Blood Quantum – Joshua Sherrett, Barbara Rosenstein, Ibi Atemie, David Atexide, Juan Carlos Ferrá, Alex Flynn, Andrei Gheorghiu, Felix Sherrett-Brown, Ali Hamidikia, Tony Wu
  • Code 8 - Brian Huynh, William Chang, Steven Huynh, Sophia Jooyeon Lee, Justin Perreault
  • French Exit - Liam Neville, Kenneth Coyne, Piers Larchet, Rob Murray, Shane Browne, Dave Thomas, Mihail Dumbravestu, Allen Sillery, Christoph Gaudi, Michael
  • Funny Boy - Peter McAuley, Michael Bishop, Derek Gebhart, Armen Bunag, Luke White, James Marin, Marco Polsinelli, Andrew Rolfe, Davor Celar
  • Laughter | Le rire - François Trudel, Cynthia Mourou

Best Animated Program or Series

  • Corner Gas Animated - Brent Butt, Virginia Thompson, David Storey, Andrew Carr, Marilyn McAuley, Robert de Lint, Jonas Diamond, Jensenne Roculan, Randy Lennox
  • Hotel Transylvania: The Series - Jane Crawford, Suzie Gallo
  • The Magic School Bus Rides Again: The Frizz Connection - Vince Commisso, Iole Lucchese, Jocelyn Stevenson, Blake Tohana, Michelle Awad, Nora Keely
  • Snoopy in Space - Josh Scherba, Anne Loi, Stephanie Betts, Paige Braddock, Craig Shulz, Mark Evestaff, Kimberly Small
  • Wild Kratts - Chris Kratt, Martin Kratt, Vince Commisso, Blake Tohana, Cheryl Knapp

Best Pre-School Program or Series

  • Abby Hatcher - Jennifer Dodge, Ronnen Harary, Rob Hoegee, Jamie Whitney, Laura Clunie, Frank Falcone, Toni Stevens, Jonah Stroh, Dan Mokriy, Cynthia Taylor, David Watson
  • Dino Dana – J.J. Johnson, Blair Powers, Christin Simms, Matthew J.R. Bishop
  • Esme & Roy – Pam Westman, Amy Steinberg, Dustin Ferrer, Scott Dyer, Kay Wilson Stallings, Doug Murphy, Jane Crawford, Melanie Grisanti, Oliver Kane, Pamela Slavin, Melissa Graham, Rick Ritter
  • PAW Patrol – Jennifer Dodge, Ronnen Harary, Keith Chapman, Ursula Ziegler-Sullivan, Laura Clunie, Toni Stevens, Jonah Stroh, Dan Mokriy, Shayna Fine, Jason McKenzie, Pascale LeBlanc, David Sharples, Damian Temporale, Sarah Williams
  • True and the Rainbow Kingdom – Frank Falcone, Mary Bredin, Jeremy Larner, Bill Schultz, Mimi Valdés, Pharrell Williams, Dominique Bazay

A complete list of nominees is available here.

Source: The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television