Search form

2018 Student Academy Awards Get Underway

Winners of the event qualify for Oscars consideration; submissions deadline is June 1.

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy is now accepting entries for its 2018 Student Academy Awards competition. All Student Academy Award winners become eligible for Oscars consideration.

The deadline for submissions is June 1.

The U.S. competition is open to all full-time undergraduate and graduate students whose films are made within the curricular structure of an eligible accredited institution.

The international competition allows two options for students at international film schools to submit their films. In addition to CILECT-member schools submitting one student film per international film school category, international students may now enter films that qualify through film festivals recognized by the Student Academy Awards Executive Committee.

For the fourth year, students are asked to submit their films online using FilmFreeway, a widely used festival and competition platform. Complete rules, the SAA qualifying film festivals list and a link to the online submission platform are available at

The 45th Student Academy Awards presentation will be held Oct. 11 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Past winners have gone on to receive 59 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 10 awards. Past Student Academy Award winners include filmmakers Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Patricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis.

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Thomas J. McLean's picture

Tom McLean has been writing for years about animation from a secret base in Los Angeles.