Search form

2017 Student Academy Awards Finalists Unveiled

CalArts, China Central Academy of Fine Arts, Filmakademie, Kingston University, Ringling, SVU and USC represented in U.S and international animation categories.

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled its list of finalists vying for nominations at the 2017 Student Academy Awards.

U.S. schools represented in the animation categories include CalArts, Ringling, SVU and USC, while international schools include Germany’s Filmakademie, the China Central Academy of Fine Arts, and Kingston University in the U.K.

The full list of 2017 Student Academy Awards finalists is shown below:

Alternative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Zhaoyu Zhou, Last Dance, USC
  • Amanda Tasse, Mira, USC
  • Max R. A Fedore, Opera of Cruelty, New York University
  • Terrance Daye, The Colored Hospital: A Visual Poem, Morehouse College

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Devon Manney, Cradle, USC
  • Young Gul Cho, E-delivery, School of Visual Arts
  • Ashley Anderson and Jacob Mann, Extinguished, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Beth David and Esteban Bravo, In a Heartbeat, Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Xia Li, Once a Hero, USC
  • Mathieu Libman, Pinky Toe, California Institute of the Arts
  • Aram Sarkisian, -Winston, California Institute of the Arts

Animation (International Film Schools)

  • Iring Freytag and Viktor Stickel, Child, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)
  • Chenglin Xie, Life Smartphone, China Central Academy of Fine Arts (China)
  • Jennifer Zheng, Tough, Kingston University London (UK)

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Darryl Shreve, Free The Wall, Wayne State University
  • Brad Bailey, Hale, University of California, Berkeley
  • Jason Hanasik, How To Make A Pearl, University of California, Berkeley
  • Priscilla Thompson and Joy Jihyun Jeong, On Pointe, Columbia University
  • Qingzi Fan, One Way Home, New York University
  • Nina Vallado, Sisterly, Andrews University
  • Lauren Knapp, The Sandman, Stanford University

Documentary (International Film Schools)

  • Omar Robles and José Permar, Aurelia and Pedro, Universidad de Guadalajara (Mexico)
  • Arianna Vergari and Valentina Traini, Exhibit Human, Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia - Abruzzo (Italy)
  • Johannes Preuss, Galamsey, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Daniel Drummond, A Foreman, Chapman University
  • Joseph Chen-Chieh Hsu, Guo Mie, New York University
  • Shane Watson, I Live Here, California College of the Arts
  • Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic, Into The Blue, Columbia University
  • Ariel Heller, Mammoth, USC
  • Kevin Wilson, Jr., My Nephew Emmett, New York University
  • Marie Dvorakova, Who’s Who in Mycology, New York University

Narrative (International Film Schools)

  • Halit Ruhat Yildiz, Annunciation, Academy of Media Arts (Germany)
  • Sinje Köhler, Blue Summer Symphony, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)
  • Ádám Freund, Earthly People, University of Theatre and Film Arts, Budapest (Hungary)
  • Jan-Eric Mack, Facing Mecca, Zurich University of the Arts (Switzerland)
  • Brady Hood, Sweet Maddie Stone, National Film and Television School (UK)
  • Katja Benrath, Watu Wote/All of Us, Hamburg Media School (Germany)
  • Marit Weerheijm, When Grey Is a Colour, Netherlands Film Academy (Netherlands)

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

Source: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.