Search form

Complete Newbie Looking for Advice

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Complete Newbie Looking for Advice

Hi there everyone, I'm a musician first and foremost looking to invest an equally ridiculous amount of my spare time into learning how to animate. I primarily wanna get good enough over the next year or so to be able to animate music videos but other mediums of animation would be fun to experiment with too. My friends and I have these pipe dreams of creating a succesful YouTube channel, TV shows, content of that nature, whilst also being in a band, so having some in house animation would be great DIY asset.

I used to be a good artist for a 10 year old but since then I have dedicated my artistic side to music. I'd like to delve back into this again but feel like I've lost an edge and am a little unpracticed. That being said, what would be a good tool or software to get started with animation for someone who is a novice? If it helps, the art style I would most likely be going for would be a kind of medieval psychedelic vibe, at least for some of the early music videos I'm looking to make:

Think Chad Vangaalen https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKHD6INztfA

Meets King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8azlP-FgHs

On a few tabs of chivalry hanging out with nymphs and fairies

Image result for tarot cards

Image result for tarot cards

I was also considering taking

I was also considering taking an online course. If anyone has taken a good one, I'd love to hear about it and be directed to it. I'm in the UK if that helps.

Well I downloaded the After

Well I downloaded the After Effects trial, Cinema4D and I'm thinking about getting Toon Boom Harmony if anyone cares lol. This forum seems pretty dead...

Hi Bard,

Hi Bard,

Adobe AfterEffects would be a pretty good tool if you want to create 2D animations by using rigs and pre-drawn bodyparts of characters exported from Adobe Illustrator or video effects and particles.