Search form

Life in Animation/Gaming Industry

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Life in Animation/Gaming Industry

Hello everyone..
I am an student about to start grad school in animation...I know this quite maybe cliched and repetetive but just wanted to know (the real deal) about the salaries/pay in the industry..Its a certainty that someone shouldn't be entering the industry for the money (myself included) ..I just wanted to know whether the salaries given by the industry (not starting,about 10 years into an animators/storyboard artists career ) whether one could make a reasonable living out of his/her passion...Also are the starting salaries offered by companies in the L.A,California reasonable compared to the high cost of living of those cities...

It's not the salaries that

It's not the salaries that are the real factor, but the amount of work one gets. And the talent one has.

You could land TV storyboard work for $12,000-$14,000 a show, do it in 5-6 weeks--making $2,000 a week.  And you might be assigned only one in 6 months.

Now, work is a USUALLY a bit more steady than that, but it can also be cyclic/seasonal. Because of production timelines you may work only six months of the year, but make enough--with some careful saving, to live on for the remaining 6 months.  You may also have enough smaller paying jobs, spread out over a longer period of time---say......$750 a week.  If you have a two-income household, then you can live comfortably enough without much struggling.

And then there's the biggest factor.....one's talent.  You really need to be above that plateau where your work is good enough to get you more work. The higher above that plateau you are,  the more in-demand you'll be and the more work that can be expected to come your way.