Search form

Advice

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Advice

Hi all!

I am a traditionally trained senior animator with more than 10 years in the animation industry. I've been working with Flash for 7 years in Toronto. I've been away from the industry since 2011 taking care of my 3 daughters and will be going back to work within the next few years.

I've been recently thinking on switching to story-boarding. I've been doing some research and asked some of my former colleagues to try to figure whether this could be the right job for me. My idea is to work freelance, from home.

- Is it possible to work from home? I've noticed that in animation the studios ask animators to work in-house and this is not an option for me right now.

- Is there as much work in story-boarding as there is in animation?

- I would really like to pursue this new challenge but I have to be realistic, I have 3 young daughters. In your opinion, do you think with my current lifestyle I can still work as a story-board artist?

-I haven't been drawing much in the past years, I know I have the talent but will need to improve my drawing skills. I have a couple of years before I'm able to work full time so training is an option. Is there an on-line course I could do to improve my drawing skills?

Thanks a lot in advance!!
Violeta

If you know the basic