Search form

Looking into going to animation school...

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Looking into going to animation school...

Hi all, I graduated last year with a degree in marketing from st cloud state in Minnesota. It wasn't until after I graduated that I figured out what I actually want to do. I want to be an animator for my own 2D fighting game. I know it sounds really stupid right? I can't decide if I should go to animation school and pursue a career animating commercials or if I should develop my own game on my own and see if I can get picked up into a career that way or something. I know I am all over the place and it is really vague. I just know I want to do animation for the rest of my life and not billboards and radio ads which I feel I would be stuck with. I chose marketing because the general business program I was in discontinued half-way through and I had to choose a major. I have never been passionate about marketing, and I regret even pursueing it in the first place. But I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life at the time. My dream job would be to be paid for creating 2D games from my own company but I would be satisfied with any job in the animation field. I have been dilligently learning techniques and practicing everyday to improve my skills and I know I have the willpower to do what it takes. But I'm 26, married, and already completed one college degree and st cloud state doesn't have a very good animation program.. I don't know what to do... I'm not looking for an answer, but just some imput and feedback from other people that have an interest in the field. Thanks!!!

Y'know..................let's be candid here:

You say you are feeling vague and all over the place and that might be the problem.
To use a military analogy: you cannot hit a target unless you aim specifically at it.