Search form

What am I applying for?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
What am I applying for?

Okay,:

-so I'm a high school student halfway through the Junior year(11th/out of 12 years, for those that don't know the US System) and am considering my options for colleges and which courses to take.

-I want to persue a career primarily in 2D Animation. Now, I don't mind using computers or hand-drawn, I love HD but eitherway is fine. But that brings the question that technically, isn't almost 2D animation these days considered Computer Animation?

-I am a student in Design and Architecture Senior High, last month rated the 5th best art magnet school in the United States. I'm currently halfway through my 2nd year of Graphic Design. I'm prevalent in Photoshop and Illustrator, and very slowly learning Flash on my own. When I get out, I'll basically have the 1st Year of a GD College Course done.

-Unfortunately, Graphic Design isn't the career I want to persue. Now, don't get me wrong, GD is fun, I love doing it, but the pressure of it being a job, and beleive me, meeting these deadlines for each project and sampling all aspects of the business, from advertising to sculpting to text/font arrangement/creation...has sucked the fun out of it. I still like doing it for fun. But, and only if I had to, I'd use it as a fall-back or small-business to support college funds.

-My biggest complaint in terms of persuing Animation is time. I'm currently working towards finding a class period to work specifically for it, although being hard, considering I want to take a course the school does not teach. But for sure, I'll have a good amount of time, maybe 2 hours a day next year to work solely on animation.

-I design games and game graphics(things like sprites and pixel-art) on the side for fun, more as a hobby, but I do it good enough to use it to my advantage somehow. If I could find a small college course for it on the side, that would be nice.