Search form

not an animator...am I useless?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
not an animator...am I useless?

Hi everyone, I know its kind of a "put self down" comment, but I assure you its a legitimate business question.
I do character design, concepts, character bibles, I do penciling/inking coloring and work in vector (both Flash and Illustrator), have 20+ years in traditional SF/F illustration (now all digital), work in both Photoshop and Painter.
AND I am a painter, comic book artist and cartoonist.

yet.....I can find only limited freelance work.
Of the many inquiries I've sent out since the beginning of the year for just the animation field, only about 5 have replied, giving the usual pat on the head for the art, but then they always ask if I animate.....

I don't. I have animation programs, hoping to get into animation, but I feel I am barking up the wrong tree perhaps? Yes, I'm a crossover from SF/F cover art/RPG games the comics indie field.

As yet I have to "break into" the animation field as background artist, concept and/or character designer. I can't help but feel that because I don't wear the extra hat of animator, that no one is interested. Should I redo my site? Do I appear tooo illustrative? Do I appear I do too much variety in style and technique? :confused:

I'm really feeling kinda mid-life lost on this stuff and can't help but feel the really cool opportunities are passin me by. Any advice is greatly appreciated, especially since I didn't realize I joined this forum 2 years ago!

thanks again

Okay, I'm going to give it to you straight. Please don't think i'm being cruel, I think the greatest injustice a person can do to someone seriously seeking to be a professional is to sugar coat it.