Search form

yet another advice seeker...

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
yet another advice seeker...

Hi
I’m posting here today in the hopes to get my head straight using your insight. I have been a computer programmer for the last 9 years and although I enjoy the work it’s not my passion. The reason i know this is that I have no desire to better my skills.

Recently I had a bit of an epiphany and i decided I wanted to do something in the animated movie industry. I love art and it’s something i can do for hours without realizing the passing of time. I also am a bit of a movie/series junky and i thought with my background in computers I could do something in the realm of Character Technical Director.

I have a good eye and instincts; I’m extremely hard working and have keen attention to detail. My drawing skills are still in the early stages but I’m told im doing quite well, I used to paint but drawing still isn’t effortless or "second nature", but it will get there. That said i do not want to be a 2D artist, my hat off to you guys, but i don’t like to redraw the same thing hundreds of times. Its one thing to draw something over and over to get it right, quite another to draw something that’s right over and over just to make it walk, jump ect.

I’m pretty sure i don’t need to be a good artist for what im aiming to do but i always like to play with ideas on paper and for that drawing is essential, in my mind anyways. I’m not too sure what else I need to be an excellent Character TD. I believe that one should have at least a fair understanding of the work others do around you in order to be successful at yours, so im also busy learning 2D animation in my spare time so that i am familiar with the principles as well as learning about character creation, timing, appeal, and all those juicy bits that are so essential. I did read that i might need to take some courses in maths and perhaps physics?