Search form

We just inked a cartoon deal for TV!!

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
We just inked a cartoon deal for TV!!

I JUST signed a TV deal with an amazing production company who does live action and animated programming for television all over the world. I’ve been a member of this forum for a year, and I see a lot of posts about how to make the dream come true, and there tons of people with various opinions on how it works… just thought I’d post my story to give inspiration and insight on how I made it happen.

I graduated with a BA in Studio art 14 years ago. After college, I realized I needed a plan to make a living and managed to get myself into commercial art where I worked in publishing and product/fashion design to make money in the corporate world. In my spare time, I always worked on my own projects on the side, from painting, to cartoons and comics, and whatever fell in between. I started to learn about the world of licensing from my day job and thought maybe I could turn my artwork, with my authentic/autobiographical edgy point of view, into a business. My sister, a former publisher and national sales champ, decided that we should go into business together. She would handle all of the business, and I would do all of the creative. I was honored to work with someone who was a sales genius and a successful business pro. It was totally the perfect match.

We did the International Licensing Show in 2006 and showcased my artwork separated into three brands, one of which was our character property. I had prepared a style guide to show, and we made displays and mock ups of our art on product. We met a lot of awesome people at the show, including a really cool person who was from a major Canadian production company.