Search form

At a crossroads- please help!

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
At a crossroads- please help!

Hi there,

I'm a first-year animation student who is having a hard time trying to figure out whether or not I should continue with my studies. My problem is two fold: 1) I find that I hate animating, and 2) That my heart is into storytelling (writing) instead.

I originally decided to pursue this career path because of my love for comics and because I've always dreamed of creating my own animated series. I have been creating comic strips ever since junior high and wanted to get into storyboarding. Unfortunately, I was brought up in a household with very strict parents who weren't at all supportive my artistic inclinations and persuaded me to get a business degree instead. After graduating, I felt the urge to pursue an artistic education and do so before it was too late.

So here I am in animation school. I like my other courses well enough (layout, character design, etc) but find that animating sucks the joy out of life. It just seems so dead and mechanical and I hate having to spend hours working hard at something I don't care about and having it judged at such a high standard. Even worse is that we are expected to major in computer animation, which brings about a sense of dread. Now, I know that I'm not the only guy in class who hates animating but what seems to separate me from the pack is the desire to write and tells stories.

A lot of my classmates evidently don't care about the storytelling process. They mope, groan and gripe whenever scriptwriting is involved and are more interested with designing a character than developing a plot for him or her. To be honest I'd like to do both but find that each craft is extraordinarily demanding and find it difficult to focus on each of them. In fact, I spend more time writing stories than I do hanging out in class.