Search form

2D for Life

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
2D for Life

I saw the title of this forum and I had to post. More and more, when I tell people I am an animator they assume I am a computer animator. And I have to explain to them that "No, I am an actual animator. You know with pencil and paper, having to control your motion and eases by hand. That is talent. Plus, I don't care what resolution you're rendering at, it still looks cold and emotionless.

I am a "traditional" animator and proud of it.

Now onto the topic. I'm setting up a studio for myself at home and was scheming at the cheapest yet most comprehensive and effective set-up. My best efforts yielded getting a batch scanner, probably an all-in-one device that can scan at a decent rate, and combining that with an animation layout tool like Toon Boom Studio.

The rates for this program seem pretty cheap for the quality of the software, but I never can tell if I'm getting something that's overkill for what I need it to do.

Does anyone out there have any familiarity with Toon Boom Studio 4 (the latest release) and if so, do you have any feedback for a future user?

Any help,
Neil

neiltheanimator's picture
Neil Van Heukelem Traditional Animator

Neil Van Heukelem
Traditional Animator

I believe the one I was looking at was the Epson GT2500.

Its affordable enough and has a 50 page auto-doc feeder, and can run 27 ppm, which seems like a fair trade-off for the money.

Are you familiar with any other scanners that might work better? Keep in mind I'm trying to keep it under $700.

Thanks again,
Neil

Neil Van Heukelem
Traditional Animator

If you're doing pure "pencil on paper" traditional, you might want to look into Digicel's Flipbook. That might suit your needs a little better than Toon Boom which is a vector based animation program.

If you're interested in saving some trees and want to do "paperless" full traditional, look at Plastic Animation Paper.

Good luck.

ToonBoom Studio is pretty nice.