Search form

My animation reel

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
My animation reel

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to this great forum. I just finished my 2d flash reel. Here is the link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6hvv0aRoE0

Comments and crits welcome.

Thanks,

David

I think perhaps you should move your sumo piece closer to the beginning of your reel. It's better than some of the pieces before it, and you should always put your best stuff in the beginning. I wouldn't use that headphones guy in your reel at all, or perhaps move him to the end. He doesn't really move that much, so he doesn't show off your animation well.

As far as the individual pieces go, you know, I think you can really push your extremes in a lot of them. I can see some really tiny side-to-side movements of the dragon's head for example, but it's so small a movement that it's hard to see. You could probably triple the amount of side-to side of that dragon's head to make him more dynamic. On the same token, I think the gorilla could stretch his arm farther in his reaching pose and bend at the elbow more (as it looks now, it almost appears that the arm is only one symbol piece, and hard to tell it's actually two independent pieces. Use them to your advantage.)

If I'm being honest, I think I prefer your b/w frame-by-frame animation of the fighter better than any of the cutout things on your reel, simply because it looks the least like flash. I'm just not so sure on that backbend, it's a little fast and I can't tell why he does it.

Hi David and welcome to the AWN Forums.

I agree with Komori in that you can push your poses a lot more. I would lead with the Sumo guy, then the dragon, the gorilla, and then the kid walking. The rest you can leave out. These are your best pieces and the rest of them, are just not up to the same level.

You still need to work a lot on your animation. Especially your timing and solidity of your characters. Animation involves thinking, not just moving things to make them move.