Search form

Animation and Tennis

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Animation and Tennis

Greetings, Everyone

I'm a tennis coach in New York. Like all coaches, I think I'm pretty good at what I do. :rolleyes: Who knows? I have a large and devoted following, anyway.

I would like to develop a website or CD or DVD for tennis-training. And I would like to use both 2D and 3D animation. This could be a ginormous undertaking, I know. So I'm floating the idea here to get some advice. And maybe find a collaborator!

A few questions to start:

Can I . . .

. . . show one swing from a variety of angles?

. . . show anything, such as footwork or ball contact, at a variety of speeds?

. . . show the flight of the ball, including its spin? With a vapor trail, maybe?

. . . zoom in or zoom out?

. . . enable the end user any of these functionalities? Maybe I need a programmer's help, too.

Can I . . .

. . . "lift" animation from real video? Know what I mean? Has any of you used software that achieves this?

And finally, are there any reasons this idea just won't work? Too much time and $$$ needed, maybe?

Hey, thanks for reading. And thanks ever so much for any feedback!

TJ

I can think of multiple solutions to anything in that first block.

As for the second block...Someone else can chime in, but personally I've never seen anything "read" full-body video for movement and translate that to an animated figure.

There was a presentation I saw recently that was essentially motion capture for facial expressions, that claimed to use no rigging and just read off of a video with heavy preparation to accomodate whoever's face was being filmed, but I apologize as I can't remember where that came from.

Nevertheless if they wind up doing a body version I think it would be prohibitively expensive at least in lieu of other things that could get the same job done, like studying the reference or even rotoscoping to match each pose with a model, understanding the spatial depths at play.