Search form

Submitting portfolio's to multiple places

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Submitting portfolio's to multiple places

Hi,

It is beneficial to apply to multiple college's when looking to attend, even if you're only after one. However, most college's application deadlines are similar, if not the same, and all tend to keep folios for extended time due to the time it takes to review all submissions. So i was wondering, how can you send your same folio out to multiple places at the same time? It's my first time applying for college, and i'm assuming the colleges frown upon or even reject copied work (stating they like orginal pieces - obviously not copies of other people's work but also i'm assuming they mean the actual orginal piece of yours i.e. not photocopied or scanned in and printed etc etc).

So...

Is it simply a case of creating the desired amount of firsthand folios for the ammount you want to apply for? Taking your best work for your first choice, and then going down the line for each application? In other words, Multiple different folios (say 4 college's, and each one recieves a unique folio of orginal work). Or is there another way? How did you do it? Just incase i'm overlooking something obvious here...

Thanks for your help,
Rich.

RTP's picture
________________________________Perpetual Motion________________________________

________________________________Perpetual Motion________________________________

Couple of things:

One-Never, NEVER ever send your original work to anyone, unless they have a paycheque on it way in your direction first.
Send good copies, always.
If they lose or damage the originals, you are screwed, and they will not take responsibility for it.
Its just common sense--send copies.

Two--if you are unsure what they mean--call them and ask them to clarify.
Sometimes their terms are vague, sometimes its easy to misinterpret because they may be using the language in different ways than you are familliar with.