Search form

wet undream -- My First 2D Animation

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
wet undream -- My First 2D Animation

Hi.

I'm a 3D animator who's transitioning to Flash. This is my first attempt at 2D.

http://www.bpusher.com/

To be upfront, I don't like flash animation. I think it takes away what animation was built on- fluidity, realistic movements, while also having exaggerative elements such as squash and stretch. I think flash takes the sincerity and heart out of animation that makes films so distinct and astounding. As an aspiring animator, I wouldn't dare touch it until I'm sure I have uncanny drawing skills (i'm working on it). Sorry for being so preachy.

I have to say I agree with everyone else. Flash is not responsible for the poor animation you have seen made with it. And I would have to guess you've never seen any of the great stuff.

Flash was originally one of the first and relatively inexpensive softwares developed that allowed an artist to string together a number of frames and create animation on the computer. That leant itself to a huge number of beginning animators myself included to experiment and produce animation that previously was unattainable. Some of it held promise some of it was trash.

And if you don't even give it chance how would you know what it can do. I know with each project I completed I gained mastery and knowledge. What do you plan on using until you gain these uncanny drawing skills. Is there some magic software that will turn crap into roses.

Or are you just happy moving other peoples models around?

Pat Hacker, Visit Scooter's World.