Search form

Independent animator wannabe

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Independent animator wannabe

Hi I’m new to the forum. I need a little advice about a problem I have. I want to do something in animation. It just don’t I have no clue how to get started in the business.

I went to college. Since there was no animation taught where I live at I thought I get a bachelor in communication: film and video production. That helps me when it come writing, storyboarding, and editing animated series.
I went to another school to learn more about 3d modeling. I got an associate degree in multimedia. It went okay but I didn’t learn what I needed to secure a job. Especially, when schools are teaching more advance techniques. The program I used was 3 d max. I can do the basic modeling. I just can’t do real detailed work.

The good thing about getting all the education I am very versatile when it comes to any media. I really prefer 2d animation. I am trying to combine 3d and 2d animation. I got a program that does 2 d animation. The animation program is cut out animation based. I also got a program that help create 3d modeling scenery. I create the character using the 2d animation program and use the 3d modeling program to do the background. I even got plenty of animation books to help me.

I like to create my own animated series one day. I just do not know what to do from this point. I would like some advice on what to do next?

Anybody who ever got a job in the industry had to show a demo reel of their animation. It sounds like you have lots of tools at your disposal - your next step is to get busy using them and start creating some footage. Do some basic exercises to get your feet wet: bouncing balls, walk cycles. Go through the animation books you have and study the techniques of animation.