Search form

Cinema 4D Question

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Cinema 4D Question

I'm new to 3D animation and have just enrolled in a class at my local state university. This particular university does not have a formal animation major, although it does have a digital arts minor. However, it's the only university that offers some classes in animation in my area.

I guess my primary question involves the fact that we are using an old version of Cinema 4D (version 8). He told us that the program is out of date and that it may be difficult to find copies. He did say that once you learn one 3D program, it's easier to learn others -- like Maya. Nevertheless, I've heard that Maya is a very complex program -- taking years to learn, and I question whether taking a class in an out-of-date program is worth the financial commitment -- or if it might be better to put the money toward an online course in Maya.

I took a course in flash animation from the same university, and I’ve basically been picking and choosing classes that I think would be valuable for an animator. Anyone with advice for a post-bachelor (not in animation) student looking for ways of preparing herself for a practical career in animation, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Yeah C4D 8 is kind of old and would be pretty hard find. Cinema 4D 10 is already out and the time between 8 and 10 there have too many improvements to count. Hair and MoGraph modules were made, Bodypaint 3D 3 has been integrated into the main module, better OpenGL support and MOCCA 3 made leaps over bounds in the field of character animation in Cinema 4D.

In regards to Maya yeah its pretty complex and the learning curve is pretty steep but doesn't stop it being one of most popular applications at major game and animation studios. Most stick with this software because it pretty much an industry standard along with 3D Studio Max. Though I still prefer Cinema 4D and Softimage|XSI over Maya.