Search form

Why do we like certain Animated Characters?

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Why do we like certain Animated Characters?

Hello everyone!
I'm doing a Masters in Animation in the UK at the moment, and have chosen an interesting subject for my dissertation: "Why do we like certain animated cartoon characters?" e.g. Mickey Mouse, Bugs Bunny,Snoopy, etc.

I'm mainly focusing on the character's appearance and aesthetics, how they appeal to human nature psychologically and socialogically. Their personalites too should get a mention in my research too, there's a lot to look at!

I'd like to discuss this with you guys if you don't mind to find out your opinions on the subject of Character Design. Any posts and your thoughts will be greatly appreciated no matter how small!

Thanks very much!

Appealling character design is explained in theory and by example in just about every decent animation and cartooning book I've ever picked up. You know- circles...and...stuff. I won't go into that further because I'll just embarass myself. ("too late!")

But personality of appealing characters- this is simple. Any character, hero or villian, is appealing if they are believable. If you believe that they are creatures of their own volition, that they have minds of thier own, then you invest your interest into them and actually care about what they do. Its not just true for animation- the same goes for live-action characters, characters in books, comics, anything! Bugs Bunny, Batman, Dracula, Atticus Finch, Tyler Durden ...these characters are appealing because you feel like they live beyond the story you're experiencing at the moment.

[SIZE=2]Have a Cup O' Jo! - [/SIZE]www.cupojo.net