Search form

Guidelines/FAQ for any newbies wanting to go 3d freelence ?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Guidelines/FAQ for any newbies wanting to go 3d freelence ?

Hi, I've been touching a few things (3d modeling, game maping, game modeling, game texturing, 3d animation with 3d max 7) for about 5 years but just a bit, here and there, I'm still learning and could be considered like a beginner.

I've never worked in the 3d world and am now recently jobless. I am considering many possibilities including going 3d freelence. I have a bit of free time so I could improve my 3d skills.

Not knowing any 3d freelences, I don't know where to go to get infos, faq, guidelines to start.

What do I have to do from start up to geting my first contract ?

Do I have to be a member of somekind of association ?

Where do I go to get contracts besides form going door to door (sort of speak)?

I know I have to make sure I have a contract for any kind of work to be better protected. Are there any standard format available anywhere ? Do I have to deal with a lawyer to have one ? Or is it the client that will supply it ?

So in other words, its the old "where and how" types of questions that I have. Of course this is just all preliminaries. I want to find out if it is worth it (having enough contracts as my only means of finance). Are there any kinds of coach for this sort of thing ?

signed : a wannabe.

73 people viewed it but no one answered ?

This topic is The most asked question amongst all freelence wannabies and the decisive one to decide theire career change. This topic will help thousands of people just like me.

Because of the nature of this forum, I estimate that at least 10-25% of all members are freelances that could share theire knowledge and expert advices to all future freelances. So answering this thread would surely help a whole lot of people.