Search form

Any good Programs out there for Macs ?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Any good Programs out there for Macs ?

Hello ,
This is my first post in the forums .
I've been working in the toy industry now for about seven years(action figures to be precise).I 've been toying around(heh-heh) with Animation on and off for the past few years and i am pretty serious about putting a portfolio together.At my current job i've gained quite a bit of knowledge/skill in just about any thing from designing ,fabricating ,sculpting,painting and mold making.
I've been looking for mac based software i could use on my G4.I also have a pretty good digital still camera(olympus c50-50z). I want to know if there was a program that could let me combine stop-motion with traditional 2d animation, like 2d character in a 3d live Set( Roger Rabbit style).I've tryied using Toon Boom(the first program i bought for my computer) for just basic 2d stuff like walking cycles. but i just cant get used to the feel of drawing in the program. I draw faster and looser with just a pencil and paper .Ive also downloaded Framethief But still cant get it to work with my camera.
Any suggestions would be awesome!
Thanks guys.

erik

Chances are, if it's just a plain digital camera (Not an SLR $1000+), that you won't be able to capture directly into the computer, and you'll need to take the pictures in the camera and then upload them. If you want to use Frame Thief (a very cool little program) you'll need a camera that has a direct input to the computer, like a web camera, firewire camera, or SLR Canon Digital (very pricey). I'm pretty sure the Olympus C line won't do it no matter what software you use, it just doesn't have a direct feed to the computer while the CCD is capturing images (even though you can upload images via the cable).