Search form

Dream On, Silly Dreamer

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Dream On, Silly Dreamer

Came across a review of Dream On, Silly Dreamer that says it all: http://www.danielthomas.org/pop/film_reviews/dreamon.htm

You're entitled to your opinion, but I don't agree with that review. I personally feel that I, not a Disney stockholder, was the target audience. I am a young animator who relates in many ways to the animators who made the film. I knew when I was young that I wanted to be an animator, dreamed about it, and have been working hard to achieve that dream.

I feel the film was very powerful in conveying the emotion those animators felt: as kids in love with animation, as workers ecstatic in their dream job, and as people feeling their dreams crumbling underneath them.

Yes others have lost their jobs, other corporations have acted only in the interest of their own pocket books. The point is that this is Disney. The day they closed the 2D dept. I had that song from Cinderella in my head all day "if you keep on believing the dream that you wish will come true." This is the company that told us when we were two years old that we could make all our dreams happen. I can't now. Because my dream was to be 2D animator at Disney. Yes, I am determined to make the best out of it. I will become the best 2D animator I can, and go into business for myself if I have to. But that's not the point. The point of this film is to mourn a dream.