Search form

Voice Talent (on a low budget)

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Voice Talent (on a low budget)

Hello everyone. I've been planning out an animated shortfilm for the past few months, and now I'm at the point where I'll need voice actors. (This is my first time attempting such a feat :) ) The problem is, I'm working on a very tight budget.

I'm hesitant to hire just any kid off the street, because I know what bad voice acting can do to a film!

So here are my questions to you. Have any of you ever hired voice actors for independent ventures? Where do you think would be the best place to find amateur voice talent? Do any of you have experience in directing voice actors?

Please note, I'm not advertising a job opportunity here. I'd just like some good, honest suggestions.

Hope to hear from you!
Pooryorik

You need to check your local colleges for talent.

Craigs List Is Conceivable

Alas pooryorick

sorry

I am an entertainment attorney (andyherz.com) and writer (buzzsawfilms.info) based in Brooklyn. Working now with a great sound guy who did a lot of the Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh films. He told me a funny voice casting story. One main voice was selected via a Craigs List request; offer of a few bucks (back then $50/now probably $100) if chosen. Director was looking at the time for an Aussie accent, so he asked Aussies to call his answering machine and read in the first paragraph of the lead story in the paper that day.

It worked.

Good luck.

Feel free to email with any questions, concerns, complaints, lewd jokes, etc.

I'd recommend checking with the drama depts of your local schools. Sometimes instructors are looking for outside projects, and you may get it done on the cheap or for free.

Pat Hacker, Visit Scooter's World.

You don't want an amateur; you want a professional working on a "buyout", that is, a one-time payment for all rights to the performance.