Search form

Graphics Tablets?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Graphics Tablets?

Hey I was wonderin what you all thought about graphics tablets. I'm lookin to purchase one, and I know Wacom Intuos seems to be the best, but they're so expensive, so I'm lookin at the graphires now. Is it possible to make great handdrawn animations using a graphire tablet, or not? What other ones you use? Thx

I am new at this, but I have notice with my tablet that it is a mix bag when it comes to being useful. I can trace a drawning with the tablet, but I could just a well scan the drawing into the computer then trace it. I am sure that with time I will get better at this.

Get the Intuos, it's way worth it. If price is a factor, look on ebay or something for an older version. They work just as good minus a few bells and whistles, and you'll save a couple of bucks. I've had mine for five years and it has yet to let me down.

Aloha,
the Ape

...we must all face a choice, between what is right... and what is easy."

what size do you use ape? or anybody else for that matter.

I am gonna ask for one for xmas. the 9x16 is 100 bucks more and i like that size. But, the smaller one IS cheaper....so I holded some paper to that size and kinda sketched on it see how much room i had. It seems to be an ok size.

In my reasearch i have found NEWEGG is the best thing ever. You can get the tablets way cheaper off newegg than off the wacom.com or other retailers. Newegg shaves off 50 bucks.

"who wouldn't want to make stuff for me? I'm awesome." -Bloo

I have the 6x8 Intuos. I haven't used a bigger one so I can't really judge between others, but I really like this size. It's big enough that I can draw with my whole arm if I need to and small enough to click around with the turn of the wrist. It's a bit smaller than my Tablet PC screen so its a nice transition going between the two.

Aloha,
the Ape

...we must all face a choice, between what is right... and what is easy."